so the input jack in my guitar is damaged (the connection goes on and off if i move the cable a little), so i guess the wire is broken / soldering connection damaged and i want to repair it myself.

guess it shouldn't be too difficult, but i'm a beginner and have a couple of questions:

1. What Soldering Iron to use:
Does it make it easier / less likely to fail if you use one with a certain power (15w or so)?
should the tip be rather flat or pointy? what works best?

2. whats a good way to practice?

3. Are there any typical beginner errors that one should be aware of?
I actually had to deal with this the other day with my guitar. My best advice is to watch someone do it who knows what they are doing, because if you don't know what you're doing it can really screw up your guitar. :/

I was lucky enough to watch my dad do it cause he is good with that stuff, and I learned. Just remember if you are re-soldering something, you need to take off the old solder with a solder remover.

My best advice if there is nobody around who can teach you is to youtube it up! Good luck!
A lower powered soldering iron (15W is super low) will give you much more leeway and will be much less inclined to burn out delicate components from overheating. The downside is that it takes forever to get the contacts hot enough for the solder to flow. Higher power makes the job much quicker/smoother, but if you keep the iron on the area for too long it will possibly ruin your circuitry. The tip type is really up to you. I like having a fine tip, because generally I work with small components, but spade tips definitely have their place.