Ok everybody heres my question, what are some good basic stuff that goes into a rack system for guitar?
Aside from a good power amp and pre amp, what are some essentials?
Power conditioner? Graphic eq? Effects?
Ive been playing for 30 years now always been a stompbox kinda guy but a rack system was something i always wanted to try.
I just got a Peavey Rockmaster preamp and a Mosvalve 962 poweramp to start.
Not looking to break the bank here but just some good gear to start off with.
Any opinions? thanks!
Can't go wrong with a good effects system. TC G major would be a good place to start if you can afford one. Could be a good idea to grab a 1u graphic EQ just so you can have a LPF and HPF on all the time to cut out all the nasties.
Quote by Cathbard
You don't need epic tone in the bedroom any more than you need mood lighting to masturbate.

I'd definitely recommend a line conditioner - Furman makes really good units. A rack rider is a really good, cheap conditioner. You'll need one if you play out at all, it really helps clean up any distortion from poorly wired venues and keeps your rack safe - I've never had any problems with mine.

Graphic EQs are nice, but not necessary. Most multieffects units have noise gates and EQs built in, so if you're going that route, I wouldn't bother. Line 6, TC electronics, and old Digitech 2101/20 units are pretty cheap, good multieffects that work well with a good preamp. It depends on what you want effects wise. And of course, if you do decide that you want to break the bank, you can't really beat any of the Axe Fx stuff.

But a lot of the fun of building a rack, to me, is swapping stuff until you find what you like. I personally really enjoyed a lot of Lexicon reverbs and delays and even found some old Eventide stuff online pretty cheap.