Hey guys,

I am new to this forum, yet, I thought, well...If I'm going to ask people who are quite guitar orientated then this would be the perfect place.

I've been playing guitar on-and-off for two months, I'm definitely below average. Within this amount of time I've taught myself a few chords...I'll list them below:

A Maj, A Min, A7
B Maj, B Min, B7
C Maj, C Min, C7
D Maj, D Min, D7
E Maj, E Min, E7
F Maj, F Min, F7
G Maj, G Min, G7

Even though I have learned these chords to a fairly good technique, I cannot really play anything "Note Worthy" or "Nice Sounding", etc. Which chords do you suggest I learn from now on, such as C-Sharp-7,etc...or rather, Barre chords...or A pentatonic scale? Etc.

Many thanks and Kind Regards,

- Joshua.
I think you would be better off learning how to use those chords rather than learning extended ones. With that palate you could create plenty of "nice sounding" though quite likely no longer "note worthy" works.

Begin to learn the concept of key. C major, for example contains seven chords. C, Dm, Em, F, G, Am and B diminished. You already know all of those chords AND even the 7th which could come in handy. Try limiting yourself to using those chords and see what you can come up with. Start with playing with F to G to Am, that's quite common and rather nice sounding or even more common, C major to F Major to G Major back to C.
Winner of the 2011 Virginia Guitar Festival

Protools HD
Lynx Aurora 16/HD192
Mojave, Sennheiser, AKG, EV etc mics
Focusrite ISA828 pres
Waves Mercury
Random Rack Gear

65 Deluxe Reverb
PRS CE 22
American Standard Strat
Taylor 712
Learn theory properly: learn to build your own chords from scales. You'll be an infinitely better musician for it.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.