Hello dear members of UG!! I am wondering how to create melodic lead lines or solos on guitar and just improvise on them. Though I am not an expert or very proficient player with this improvisation thing and I mostly use scale runs or simple patterns for improvisation. For a couple while I have been experimenting to create melodic lead solo, but it seems I am not getting it right. So can anyone here please help me with this problem?
Quote by stranger_23
Hello dear members of UG!! I am wondering how to create melodic lead lines or solos on guitar and just improvise on them. Though I am not an expert or very proficient player with this improvisation thing and I mostly use scale runs or simple patterns for improvisation. For a couple while I have been experimenting to create melodic lead solo, but it seems I am not getting it right. So can anyone here please help me with this problem?(Invalid img)
For a couple while I have been experimenting to create melodic lead solo,
Try to hit chord tones on strong beat and use your ear as much as you can. Hitting chord tones gives the listenner a feeling of control and melody but ultimately listenning to your inner ear will make your solos that much more melodic. You can also try to sing the melody before playing it while listenning to the backing.
you're not playing with your ears, you're playing with your fingers. which is precisely the reason that 95% of the guitar players i meet in every day life boast about how well they can improvise, when they truly have little to no idea what improvise means.

Quote by stranger_23
Though I am not an expert or very proficient player with this improvisation thing and I mostly use scale runs or simple patterns for improvisation.

stop relying on "scale runs" and "simple patterns". use your ear. play the guitar, don't let the guitar play you. train your ear to the point that you can hear what you play before you play it.
Anfangen ist leicht, Beharren eine Kunst.