What do you guys think of the rhythm guitarist having one solo in a song that has 2 solos.
I mean I'm the rhythm guitarist in my band, and it just feels like my job is getting pretty boring, just strumming chords and riffs. Although our lead guitarist IS the more experienced guitarist, I'm perfectly capable of doing some solos. I've talked to him about it and he said its weird if we split the solos. So what do you guys think?
Tell him he's incompetent. JK, just tell him that it isn't weird at all. Solos shouldn't really matter that much in my opinion, it's just a part of the song. I was a rhythm guitarist for my previous band and I know how it sometimes get too boring, but just stand your ground and say "I'm doing the solo in this one." and once you say it, you better deliver and learn your s**t.
The strokes have both guitarists play solos, not in one song, but between different songs the rhythm guitarist sometimes plays solos.
I mean it's obviously done, Iron Maiden, Judas Priest, Metallica (in some cases).

I've been in your situation before and we eventually settled on me doing the intros, just so I could have some "leadish" parts.
trivium has 2 guitarist and they both play solos, so does Megadeth, the damned things has 3 guitarist and 2 of them solo iron maiden currently has 3 guitar players and they all solo, killswitch engaged has 2 guitar players that have solos. plenty of bands have 2 guitar players that solo, as long as you can handle the solo i dont see anything weird about that at all
The end of Coheed and Cambria's "Welcome Home" has both Claudio and Travis trading guitar solos. There's even a part where both guitarists are playing two separate solos at the same time and making them blend.
Alter Bridge split the solos.
Mark Tremonti is obviously the better guitarist but Myles Kennedy is perfectly capable of soloing and he actually does it pretty well. and it doesnt need to be in the same song either.