In all my years of plugging away on bass i've never really strayed from using D'Addario strings. It is my preferred guitar string, but bass is a different animal and now it's restring time i'm seeking out options.

I'm primarily a guitarist, but I record heaps in my home studio and it's crucial to have a well sorted bass at my disposal. On average i'll probably play my bass an hour a week, and I want strings that'll last a year without their tone falling in a heap.

Mine is a '62 reissue P-Bass, running a regular E tuning 1/4 of the time, half a step down the other 3/4 of the time. I like funky/perky basslines, but always with a footed in rock. I hate flappy strings, but don't like my strings too beefy either. Always DI'ed and plugged through an Ampeg SVT simulator.

So what brands/guages can you recommend?
Last edited by ravenhaller at Mar 22, 2012,
I'm not really sure which strings you'd like specifically but I use Rotosound 66 Swingbass. I've had D'Addario strings before but I prefer Rotosound for bass.
I'M A COWBOY
Rotosound get another vote from me.

I've tried near enough all the big brands, but Rotosound just trump them all for me. I use these strings specifically, but I've found all of their strings I've tried to be great.

I've never had a single packet with a duff string in (and I've had them from other main brands despite having bought way more Rotosound than anything else), they sound great, and they feel great on the fingers even when completely fresh (none of that nasty resistance that I often feel on certain other brands when new, Ernie Ball being a prime example).