I messed around with mic placement again yesterday and I tried the old "45 degree pointing towards the centre of the cone" type placement.
While playing I noticed the sm57 had a really bad signal (my condensor a couple of feet away was fine btw).
During playback there was a lot of what sounded like line noise (like a serious ground loop buzz and no real volume), really bad and totally unuseable, I thought the mic was goosed but as soon as I put it back to my "straight on, an inch off centre" it worked fine.
I'm a newb when it comes to recording and I'm aware it's a steep learning curve but I'm interested to know what was the possible cause of this, what is the theory behind it?
Was it just bad mic placement, maybe needed moving up or across, like there is a band/position within which this technique will and will not work?
Is it this mic technique flawed or was I just doing it wrong?

For your information, I'm using a Peavery Vyper 75W (ok I know but it's what I have so don't go on about "you need a better amp ) with a Dean ML FBD Tribute, SM57 and Audio Technica ATM33a > Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 > Reaper.
Also, the finished recording with a small amounf of eq and haas effect was probably the best sounding recording I've ever achieved.
Don't think so mate, as soon as I put it to 90 degree to the amp it worked fine, could it be a phase thing or am I barking up the wrong tree?
I don't believe it's a phase thing but I really don't know just trying suggestions. The reason I thought it could be a grounding issue is because the ground could be loose so when you put it at angle it may move something on the inside and it becomes no longer grounded.