Hey guys, I'm a noob.

Anyway, I bought a ht-5 mini stack (5 watt head and 2 speaker cabs)

I connected the 2 cabs to the head using the supplied speaker cables.

I'm confused because I connected the cabs to the '1x8 Ohm or 2x16 Ohm' jack on the back of the head. At first it didn't work then I just switched the cables around (but kept them in the same tap 2x16) and now it works.

I'm confused because I can't see anything different between the two cabs, why does one have to go left and one have to go right?

tl;dr wtf
Just a guess here, but if both speaker cabs are the same, then you should be plugging one into the 1x8 Ohm input, and one into the 2x16 Ohm input.
I contend that we are both atheists. I just believe in one fewer god than you do. When you understand why you dismiss all the other possible gods, you will understand why I dismiss yours.
- Stephen F. Roberts
Could you upload a pic of the back of the cabinets? I just want to see what the input/outputs look like.
It works for about 20 seconds perfectly fine, then there is a crackle, at first its quiet, then it gets louder, I can still hear my guitar when its crackling, then the guitar gradually gets quieter until you can't hear it at all anymore and the crackling stops.
They're plugged in fine in that picture, take them back to where you got them and see what they say.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
Does the label under the cabinet input say if it's rated for 8 ohms or 16 ohms? I couldn't quite make that out in the pics. I would imagine they're both 8 ohms, but I thought I'd just make sure.