For starters, I'm sorry if this is in the wrong place. Delete it if it is, let me know, I'm new here.

Call me old fashioned, but I suck at learning via the internet. I'm nearly 18, and I've recently made the decision as to what course I'm studying at university. I had to choose between Music Technology + Instrument Technology. I chose MT, and I'm beyond excited about it. However, I'm gutted that I wont have professional lecturers to teach me A-Z about Guitars, amps, pick ups, valves - all those interesting topics - So what I'm trying to find out is...

(TL;DR)

Does anyone here know good places/Books/Websites/Magazines/People which can teach me everything I'd like to know. Basics -> Advanced; How Valves/Tubes actually work -> How different types of wood affects the sound of a guitar. Everything, I want to know it all

I figure people on here know just as much as university lecturers, so if you have any shape/form of help you can offer me, please let me know. - And hey, I might be able to teach you a thing or too about Recording Studio stuff (Atleast I can try).

So to summarise

(TL;DR II)

Can you help me learn about Guitar + Amp technology.

Thanks,

Nick.
I always wondered why somebody would go to school for music... it would kill the love for me.

Then again, I am a different breed all together.

I recommend just spending more time on the internet. I'm on here like all the time, and have learned SO MUCH!
"If you're looking for me,
you better check under the sea,
because that's where you'll find me..."
With music technology, I need to learn how to use all the programmes inside and out etc, as I want to work in a recording studio for a job. But I can see where you'd coming from :p

But yeah, I plan on it, I had an old account on here, and I learnt a lot in the small amount of time I spent on here.

But as I say, I suck on the internet, I wouldn't know where to look to find good information on the net.
google.com has everything you need to know!

Hooray internets!