So, during the course of the following week I'll be getting me a new, proper, quality and metal guitar. Unfortunately, I'll be forced to play it on either Vox Pathfinder 15 or through Jamlab. I also have pretty decent speakers, however, my laptop is not very metal, with it's low processing power and therefore, high latency.
I've been eyeing low-cost amps for some time now, and since I play (yep, you guessed it!) mostly metal, Peavey Vypyr 30 looks like a decent choice. It will run me ~250 euros, probably more, and it will be a significant investment because I'm a piss-poor jobless student who lives with his mom (no, not even in the basement, I WISH I had one! Would do me good for jamming sessions!), so my first question to all you experienced folk would be - would Vypyr 15 also be a good choice for me?
I live in an apartment, so low-level volumes are a must. I'm also aware of the fact that 12" speaker will give me more power and a bit higher frequency range (maybe?), but if that means cranking up the volume to get it, then 30 is a no-go. This is to be an investment for the next couple of years till I get a job and my own place, then I might as well build a full-on Marshall stack.
So, in short, what will I gain if I take a Vypyr 30 over 15? I could get 15 for 160 euros out the door, so it's considerably cheaper, and I need every dime I can spear.
Oh yeah, and second-hand market is pretty poor here, and things run for almost as much as in the store. Even if I found something for cheap, if it broke, I wouldn't be able to replace it for a long time.
So. What do I get? The 30 or will 15 suffice? Is there by chance something better for metal at that price range? What's the meaning of life? Help much appreciated!
Last edited by Casull454 at Mar 25, 2012,