Hey, I looked at the first page of the recording forum but since I know very little on recording I decided to make a thread, since I need the answer quickly. If anyone can show me any thread with this topic, that would be great as well.

So basically I just need to record a very simple guitar or mandolin only piece and I have never done any serious recording before. So can anyone tell me the simplest way to record some simple song with alrightish quality? I will probably have access to my school's music room tomorrow, so I guess I could use some equipment there, but I am not sure what equipment there is.
There are two main options:

1 - Get an interface to enable you to use a PC for recording
If you want to get into recording as a serious hobby (or potential career), this is the best option. There's a fairly steep learning curve when you first get going, you need to have a reasonably powerful PC if you start using several tracks at once (doesn't sound like this will be an issue in the short term) and you are reliant on having the PC available to you whenever you want to record. If you need to use lots of virtual instruments, this is the only option.

2 - Get a multitracker
Digital multitrackers can do pretty much everything that the software equivalent can. They are a slightly higher initial outlay, however once you have one you can use them to go from basic idea to fully finished product in a single purpose built unit. Unlike PCs, they are designed for home recording projects, so they are usually easier to use and are also much more portable so you can take them anywhere without needing to go through the hassle of setting up your PC & interface each time you go somewhere.

In my opinion, if "recording for dummies" is what you're after, you definitely need to go with the multitracker option.