I am somewhat new to the pro audio realm of guitar, so please dont be too rough. So I am thinking of getting some preamp effect units such as a Marshall JMP-1 and a some sort of EQ. My question is can I run this through my current amp which is a Marshall TSL 602? To my understanding, these preamp effect units are basically high end pedals. If I am wrong, please help me out with this one. Thanks!
The idea of the external preamp is to basically bypass the amp's own preamp entirely. If your amp has a FX loop you accomplish this by pluging your preamp into the "FX return" jack.
So in the back there are a FX loop inputs. The two inputs are a return and send, so if I link the preamps and plug them into the FX return jack they should work as long as the FX are engaged by the footswitch?
Quote by seljer
The idea of the external preamp is to basically bypass the amp's own preamp entirely.

or so you can run a particular power amp (like a 50/50) or so you can have more control over preamp and power amp selection. some people actually have high dollar setups that switch between all kinds of amp/preamp/power amp/ pedal combinations.

sometimes it is just handy to have the preamp in it's own box

Quote by seljer
If your amp has a FX loop you accomplish this by pluging your preamp into the "FX return" jack.

+1

bypass the amps preamp altogether.

So in the back there are a FX loop inputs. The two inputs are a return and send,

yup. the 'send' jack has the amp's native preamp output. you can 'send' this signal to pedal or rack effects (usually stuff like reverb or delay is used here, many other effects find there way into an effects loops as well).

the 'return' is the input for you amp's power section. so you could 'send' the preamp to a bunch of pedals and 'return' the effected signal to the power amp.