So this is really my last attempt at a call for help, so please don't tell me to stop playing or any stupid stuff, k? ._.

I'm self taught, I find more pride this way, everything else has been fine until recent where I have found my love for just picking up my guitar and playing it until I like what it sounds like. Problem is, I don't have the faintest clue about scales, keys, or how to even write riffs so they connect smoothly

I have tried YouTube and online theory, they're too in depth for my little brain, what I really need is someone to just really dumb it down to the basics to get me started. Please help? Lol

If it helps, here's what I'm struggling to understand;

-Keys in general (finding the key)
-Matching scales to the correct key

I have a small riff written down, if anyone would like to take a look at that if it would help?
The following two books really helped me get my head around things back when I was first learning.

The Complete Idiot's Guide to Music Composition
Music Theory for Guitarists by Tom Kolb

also, Piano for Dummies has several excellent chapters on reading music, scales, and chord construction.
Some people swear by MusicTheory.net. Mike Dodge has some good beginner theory lessons in his site - I think some of it is misleading simple, but it's probably a good starting place.

This is a big topic, and I'm a big fan of structured learning. Rather than feel around for nuggets here and there, I think a small investment can pay big dividends. So I'd encourage you to either commit to MusicTheory.net, or to get a good book on basic theory. I like Schroeder and Wyatt's workbook "Harmony and Theory." It starts very basic and gets rather advanced.

However, I don't think that theory is the key to writing music. It helps, don't get me wrong, but I actually think the key to writing music is developing your ear. My experience, as well as that of other's I've talked to, is that developing your ear tends to unlock your musical creativity.