I have been playing on and off for a few years and have never had any issues playing rythm, but when it comes to playing any lead, i end up in a cycle of pain because the skin just falls of my fingers and end up having to stop, so my ability to improve feels impossible at times. Its all start, stop, start and stop and very frustrating.

The problem seems to start when i go beyond the 12th fret, im fine at first but when i start bending then it doesnt take too long for the problem to occur again, the tension feels too much for the finger tips.

I have a Jackson Dinky and dont imagine it has anything to do with the guitars and have used D´addario XL and EB Super Slinkies, both 9s (and nickelwound), but still the same probelm.

Could it be the strings im using, i cant really go anything under 9s because i have a Floyd Rose, but maybe its the type of string, like nickelwound that could be a factor?

Any help or advise would be greatly appreciated!!

Thrasher
Hmmmm... I bend on my acoustic with 12s on it and have never had any problems.

Sounds like you've never built up your calluses. Also, are you using two fingers to bend? If you're only using one, it only stands to reason that it will take more force to bend the string. Use a helper finger to push the string, if you're not already.

Playing on a more consistent basis will help build your calluses and alleviate the issue.
Yeah that seems to be the issue and I have no idea why, I always use 2 fingers for bending because 1 would just me too sore, with 2 i can get more force as you say.

I play as much lead as i can, despite my screen name im not playing anything too brutal on the fingers, a lot of Queen at the moment.....
you'll develop the constitution and endurance eventually. keep at it!
Audio Ecstasy Productions!

Guitar/Backline Tech in the Los Angeles area and on tour!
Custom guitar pedals and cabling for stage and studio!