Hey everyone, I've been a guitarist for the past 8 years of my life and have never once been taught how to read sheet music. It has now come the time where I have decided that I want to pursue a career in music and have been enrolled into a college of my choice that offers a Jazz Studies degree.

Of course as you probably already assume, the degree requires an audition which consists of my level of playing (of which I have not too much concern) and sight reading abilities and an improvisation requirement (both of which I have considerable amounts of concern with).

Since I do not know how to read music already I have found it is very difficult to start learning to read music and going back to square one after already becoming as well of a player as I am, I need to find a way to learn to read music that will work.

My question to all of you is this: What is the best way to learn to read sheet music for guitar effectively and in a reasonable amount of time while maintaining my interest and attention?

The most important parts are maintaining my interest and learning it effectively.

I hope you all can help me!!

Nick
I strongly recommend William Leavitt's "A Modern Method for Guitar" (also known as the "Berklee Books"). The books (there are three) are widely recognized and shouldn't be difficult to locate.

The first book starts at a rather fast pace and requires hard work to get through perfectly. That said, if you take the time to go through without half-assing things, it is incredibly rewarding and you should be able to walk away with good reading (specifically sight reading) skills.
It will take time. To improve quickly it is best to practice it on a daily basis.

Some things you might want to try are getting some sheet music for a song (without tab) and start learning it note by note. It will seem really slow at first but practice every day. Even twice or three times a day. Put in thirty minutes in the morning, then thirty minutes at night every day.