I have just started learning in the last two days and am wondering if I should have the cheapo guitar I picked up at the pawn shop converted to a lefty since I am indeed left handed.

I'm thinking I would be better off since I would (or should?) have better precision with my left and could therefore strum better. But, since I am a noob, I am not sure what takes more precision: strumming or fingering.

The only downfall is I wouldnt be able to pick up a random guitar at a friends house and start playing in the future.

Thoughts/Suggestions?

Thanks!
I am left handed and play left handed. I dont think it matters too much in the long term, you should try holding a guitar and plucking some notes on both a righty and left and see if one seems more natural or comfortable. If both seem equally un-natural then just stick with the guitar you have.

Another consideration is that there are significantly less left handed guitars available, and they are usually a bit more expensive. Thats the most annoying thing about being left handed.
But boys will be boys and girls have those eyes
that'll cut you to ribbons, sometimes
and all you can do is just wait by the moon
and bleed if it's what she says you ought to do
Last edited by Hydra150 at Mar 30, 2012,
Quote by Hydra150
Another consideration is that there are significantly less left handed guitars available, and they are usually a bit more expensive. Thats the most annoying thing about being left handed.
Well, I think you could probably dial that back to, "there used to be a lot fewer left handed guitars available".

While you're absolutely correct in what you've said, the situation now, is infinitely better than in years past.

Today I can easily find desirable left handed instruments, in quantities abundantly more than I can possibly afford.

Jus' sayin', the availability of left handed guitars today is such that it shouldn't discourage someone who wants to learn as a lefty, to go ahead and do so.