I've been playing guitar for a few years now. I do mostly covers and the like and i have a decent base with technique, but I'm mostly clueless when it comes to writing a good riff or something. I looked through the lessons section but I got lost.

What I need is a starting point

I know the Pentatonic minor, and i can do some really simple solos, but other than that I can't do much. Maybe a short riff, but it's never complete.

Are there any good lessons out there? Maybe a series of lessons I can go through? I'm sorry if this is the wrong forum for this, I spend to much time lurking in the pit.
Rig:
Jackson SLSMG/Ibanez S470QS/Charvel DS-1 -> JCA100H/BV50H -> Carvin V212

Quote by JamSessionFreak
Some of my farts last longer than Axe does.
A starting point could be a chord progression, a riff, a lyric or a melody - experiment/improvise till you come up something then explore that something.
But boys will be boys and girls have those eyes
that'll cut you to ribbons, sometimes
and all you can do is just wait by the moon
and bleed if it's what she says you ought to do
I can only tell you what worked for me.

For me, the key to creating music was developing my ear and my intuition. In my experience, when you try to write music by noodling around (in a scale or not) on the guitar you tend to come up with fairly obvious trite stuff and you're only sort of "writing" by luck and happenstance.

Instead, train your ear. (Download the functional ear trainer from miles.be, and get a good book on ear training. I recommend Wyatt's).

Then writing music becomes about listening. It's about listening to the sounds in your head, and finding them on your guitar. It's about listening to the world around you, and letting that inspire your musical ideas.