Hi, so I normally play an acoustic guitar.

I find that when im really having trouble speeding up my playing, I will switch over to my nephews electric guitar(which bothers me, because the string spacing is different), but because its so weird to play, I pick up on some technical stuff, that I dont notice as well on acoustic, because im so focused on making sure all the strings are voiced etc... I wont go into my reasons for wanting to mess with it, I just think its fun even though I generally prefer the acoustic

Anyway, quick question on a few things, because im new to electric.

Its a cheap electric guitar - fender starcaster, and im not sure what the amp is, it says SP-10. My brother in law bought it for my nephew, but he never plays it, so I have it now.

Assuming it is strung right, and I think it is, because it tunes up fine, and stays in tune ( i love the tuners on electric guitars, it seems so much more fine tuning that the ones i have on the acoustic... ).

anyway can someone direct me to a quick faq on like.... why different pickups sound different? the thing that switches between the neck and the bridge pickup, how the tone knobs work, and also why there is another set of tone/volume knobs on the amp. Another thing, how does the "whammy bar" work, I think it might be broken cause it seems like all it is a metal bar that is screwed into the guitar, but no matter what i do to it it doesnt affect the sound.

I have looked for some stuff, but its tough to find a beginngers guide for this type of thing
Look at the "Sticky" threads under "Gear building and customizing".