Hey guys,

I'm just starting out home recording, I need some help with what to buy & setting up.

I'll be miccing my amp, and I looked up a bit and it seems the Shure SM57 is a good place to start out.

But once I buy that I'm not sure where to go from there. Does it come with a wire that connects it into a PC? Or do you plug it into something else and then onto a PC?

If it doesn't come with a cable, what is the type of cable called?

Really need help on how I can record the sound onto my PC.

Thanks, all help is appreciated
If you want to record on PC the proper way, you will want some form of audio interface (a box containing mic pre's and a/d converters) to go between the mic and the computer. You will also need an XLR cable for the mic, to connect it to the interface, and the rest will come with the interface typically, but in a worst case scenario you just need a USB or FireWire cable, depending on the type of interface you choose.

Ask away with questions that will now have sprung into your mind, but really you should look at the Recording FAQ thread stickied at the top of this forum instead.
Hey, look. Sigs are back.
Thanks for the reply Goliath. Saw that as more of a discussion (stickied thread) rather than an FAQ.

For this 'audio interface box', is there a popular good one that someone starting out with this stuff should buy (not too expensive)?

Thanks.
As well as looking at that, you should also look at using a multitracker as your DAW. It's an alternative to using your PC, and can often be the better option for someone just wanting to be able to have a good quality home recording setup.

They do pretty much everything that software can, are easier to get to grips with and provide you with a full start to finish solution in a single purpose built unit. Most included drum/bass sequencers as well.