Hey guys,

my JVM410 needs some new pre-amp tubes and i don't have much experience with them.

ATM it has a JJ 12AX7 in V1 (just put it in the other day as it was kicking around) and stock Marshall's in the other 4.

I play mostly hard rock and metal but i need to have versatility.

My budget is about £60-80

I have heard that the Shuguangs are great for high gain but are lacking in a good clean tone. I've been using JJs in my JCM800 for a few years now but i wanna explore some other options.

Any advice would be welcome.

i can post a block diagram with gain stages if that helps.
My Rig:
Maverick F-1, Ibanez RG1527, Schecter Omen 8
Marshall JVM 410H,
Hand built 4x12 w/ V30s
Current board:
PXL LIVE
TU2
WHAMMY IV
MXR M132
MXR M101
TIMMY
NS2
MXR M108
XOTIC EP
TC DREAMSCAPE
DL8
Last edited by loki_lulamen at Apr 1, 2012,
JJs are great in Marshalls, and 9th-gen Shuguangs are good too. I have a set of Shuguang EL34s in my Splawn. I have a set of their 12ax7s, but I haven't really messed with them, so I can't say much about their preamp tubes, but everything I've heard says they're quality tubes. Another option you could try is Tung-Sol. They're a bit brighter than JJs. JJ builds a better and more reliable tube overall, but Tung-Sols are still decent, and are something different you could try.

One other thing you can try, if you have some cash left over, is see if you can find a JAN Philips 5751 and put it in V1. Those things do wonders for clarity and tone quality. They're more expensive than new tubes, but I think it would still be worth it if you have the money.
Ibanez UV777 - Carvin TL60 & 727 - Jackson KE3
Splawn QuickRod - Mesa Stiletto & RoadKing - Peavey Ultra+ - Peavey Bandit
Some pedlulz & cabz

7 String Legion
Awesome. Just had a look for the JAN and found them for a reasonable price. The Tung-Sols sound interesting, how are the clean tones?
Thanks dude.
My Rig:
Marshall JVM 410H,
Hand built 4x12 w/ V30s
Current board:
PXL LIVE
TU2
WHAMMY IV
MXR M132
MXR M101