Hey, guys!

I'm in the market for my first electric guitar. I'm a complete beginner and I've only been playing my acoustic for a couple of months (Takamine GS330s).

I visited a Sam Ash last night and browsed around, but spent more time reading the reviews on my phone than actually playing the guitars.

My budget's around $300-400
I like to play Indie Rock (Arctic Monkeys, Strokes, Fratellis, Shins), and classic Rock.
I'd rather have a new guitar, but used is also fine
I live down in Miami, FL
My only current guitar is my acoustic Takamine GS330s

The salesman at Sam Ash showed me a used Gibson SG Special for $399(with case), which looked pretty good, and the reviews on here are positive.
I think I could haggle him down a little bit.

Oh, and I also have no equipment. And I was looking to purchase a decent amp for <$100

Any suggestions would be appreciated! I'll probably head back to Sam Ash later this week to check out your recommendations.

Edit: it's a Gibson SG Special, not standard. Not sure if that makes a huge difference or not.
Last edited by carlitoswashere at Apr 3, 2012,
Find a guitar you're comfortable with. At the end of the day, it has to be fun for you to play it. Make sure you like the shape of the neck (it fits in your hand, you don't get cramped up when you play etc...) and how the strings feel when you bend/play on them.

Maybe make sure the guitar has a decent set of tuners so it won't fall out of tune all the time too and you should mostly be all set!
Quote by zgr0826
My culture is worthless and absolutely inferior to the almighty Leaf.

Quote by JustRooster
I incurred the wrath of the Association of White Knights. Specifically the Parent's Basement branch of service.
fender mexican strat.
My Rig
Fender Blacktop Strat HH MN > Joyo JF-01 Vintage Overdrive > Boss ME50 > Line 6 Spider IV 30

Other Shit
Jim Deacon Acoustic
Yamaha 12 string acoustic

New Amp Fund
£300/700
Quote by leigh596
fender mexican strat.