I've been playing rythym guitar for many years and have just started on some solo/lead guitar. I'm practicing scales and trying to learn more of the fingerboard, and I'm paying a lot of attention to my little finger and using it a lot when doing scales. But when I relax and start to improvise and jam, I change my fingering and rarely use my little finger. Should I be forcing myself to use my little finger more often? Where is the dividing line between the 'correct' fingering for scales and just doing what comes naturally? I notice that I might start a melody with the correct fingering, but as soon as I do a slide I abandon the correct position and fingering, and start using just three fingers again.
when using the pinky for scales, it is merely for reaching convenience so if you wanted to fret the 12th fret and then hammer-on to the 15th or 16th fret you should use your pinky.

however if you are moving alot up and down on your own improvised lead lick(s), you should be doing what feels more comfortable. basically if you are playing on the 12th fret and want to move to the 17th fret and it feels right to slide to the 15th fret first, then do that, don't force yourself to fret that with your pinky.

basically use your pinky when it is nessecary, and always use it when practicing scales or other people's licks that have large stretches to keep it strong enough to play with, but don't force yourself to use it on your own licks that don't require it.
Quote by Dirk Gently
Some pieces are only meant to be played by people with six fingers on their fretting hand. Sorry.