Hi, I'm an intermediate guitarist and I'm stuck playing the same stuff over and over again, feeling pretty uninspired. I've been playing on and off for about 10 years now and I'm nowhere near where I want to be with my playing. For reference of my abilities, I can play some of the easier Malmsteen riffs, (I am A Viking, etc) but I suck at soloing and I'm pretty down on my playing. I've thought about getting a tutor, but I'm not a people person at all and my playing is worse when I play in front of people, but I need to progress. What books, DVDs, etc do you suggest that I work through? I want to take my playing more seriously, but I don't know where to go next.

TLDR; What should I learn?
DVDs and books never did me any good. For me, inspiration comes from checking out new and completely different music. Try Pandora, or ask for recommendations from some people here on UG. Also, do you do warmups and stuff? Because those can really improve your playing.
I've learned everything that I know up to this point from just picking a song and learning it, or part of it. I have no real knowledge of scales and only basic musical theory knowledge, just what "sounds right" to my ears. My warmup is just playing. I've got myself into a situation where I'm too advanced to start again, but not good enough to move onto advanced stuff, if that makes sense?
My guitar playing friends, who are all over fifty, enroll in our Community College's guitar ensemble courses, and have a great time learning new stuff and playing with others. Take any music or guitar course at your local school.
Get over yourself, help yourself, and get on with it, if it means that much to you. Good luck.
Try taking lessons? They're quite helpful if you have a knowledgeable teacher. Since you're into Malmsteen, I'd suggest learning the major scale shapes, along with the basic pentatonic box shapes. Once you practice and memorize those, you'll be flying all over the fretboard.
NOW PART OF THE

Quote by Robchappers