Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting on these forums, and I bet there are about 23100 topics with pretty much the same question as I have. But still I'm going to shit this place up by creating a new thread :-)

I'm looking for a new amp for playing small giggs. I currently have a Blackstar HT-5 Combo, and when I cranck up the volume to max I can barely reach the drum sound. So It's time for a new amp. ( I play mostly rock and metal )

I really like to sound comming out of my blackstar so far, So I was looking towards buying the Studio-HT40. However I'm not sure if the sound is anywere near the HT-5. The price range I'm looking for is around €500-700.

I've also been looking into the Orange Dark terror and the Dual terror. Aswell as the ENGL gig master. However the prices are about the same as the Studio HT-40 but the watts are alot less. So I was wondering if it is worth going for an ENGL or Orange but then with less watt. Are these really much better then Blackstar amps? Or do you just pay for the name on the box?

If any of you guys have another amp in mind that might fit me, please say so and I will look them up!

Thanks in advance!
If u're gonna gig it's probably gonna be mic'ed up so u should be fine. I only heard good things about the HT-5.
1. You're surfing the internet.
2. You're browsing through the UG forums.
3. You're reading now.
5. You didn't notice that there was no #4.
6. You just checked it.
7. Now you're having a lil smile.

Quote by hawk_kst
You Sir, have the best signature like ever!
blackstar HTs are hybrid, not all-valve. if you like the tone it's not a problem, but it's worth going in with your eyes open.

so's the engl, i think.

it's hard to beat the traynor ycv50b on thomann with your budget. obviously depends on the tones you want, but yeah.