I began my musical education at a young age with the classical violin and clarinet, before at age 13 "rebelling" against the constraints of my parents and playing guitar (both electric and acoustic).
Whilst formal classical musical education provided me with essential skills such as reading music, playing with other musicians and practicing discipline, my mostly self taught approach to guitar has lead to a what I have now come to believe is a very un-musical attitude towards the guitar.

Like all young guitar students I began by imitating my idols (Hendrix, Page etc...) which translated into buying solo transcriptions and memorizing them. I gradually moved on to improvising over blues, pop and rock tunes with fairly easy chord changes. This was actually a very satisfying period of guitar playing since I found that I was able to learn how to express myself since the lack of complex changes allows you to be lazy harmonically. Throughout this period I also became intensely interested in developing "chops", learning many challenging guitar pieces for show. (Cliffs of Dover, Eruption, Paganini's 5th Caprice by Jason Becker, Far Beyond the Sun.)

Of course all of this contributed to an ego trip hard to resist for a 17 year old....

The inevitable realization of my own musical shortcomings on the guitar coincided with my burgeoning interest in Jazz and Fusion as genres. I began playing for a Big Band which sorely tested my sight-reading skills. (other players such as saxophonists could easily sight read complicated rythmns and long lines of fast notes to performance levels, whilst I needed to take music home to "learn" it) At the same time as my awareness of theory increased exponentially and my exposure to non-static harmonic movements (Bebob, Giant steps cycle etc) increased, I realized that my improvisational skills were sorely lacking since I was failing miserably to "move with the changes" and instead attempting to just "solo in the key of the tune".