So I'm new to recording. Just bought a cheap recording package off Musician's Friend. Came with a digital recorder, a condenser mic with stand, and two small monitors that look like computer speakers. Here are my questions:

1. When I'm layering tracks I can't hear myself on these crappy monitors and turning down is not an option because the level is so low. I'm gonna have to buy new monitors. If I upgrade to some "real" monitors am I going to have to buy a power amp or something along those lines? Or are they self powered much like the ones I have now going directly to an outlet?

2. It seems like my volume is ridiculously low on my recorder (Tascam DP-008). Even with my amp cranked up and the mic right next to it when I play it back it sounds quiet and muffled. Is it always gonna be like this due to my cheap recorder or is it just subjective to what I'm playing it back through? As in if I upgrade my monitors will the volume be improved?

3. I've read up on condenser vs. dynamic mics. Is there any problem recording distorted electric guitar with a condenser mic (which is all I have)?

Thanks!
1. Most monitoring speakers will be self powered.

2. Have you turned the gain up on the tascam. The gain is the amount of signal coming through the mic, the higher the gain the more signal you'll get. Just be weary that if you turn it up too much you'll get audio clipping, where the file is distorting - for a good clean recording you wanna find the sweet spot where you have an excellent amount of signal and no clipping (Most recording software will have some form of indication as to whether it has clipped or not)

3. As as music tech student, I've had it drummed into me to never use a condenser for electric guitars: but that's just while I'm still learning.
The beauty of recording is that if it sounds good, it is good. If you use the condenser and get a good result, then fantastic, it's not unheard of.