I've been playing guitar for 2 - 3 years, and right now I'm in a rut as far as improvement goes. I know major/minor pentatonic scale shapes, I'm learning music theory (but I'm having issues applying some of it to guitar), I know some songs, what "sounds good" in terms of fretting, chord progressions, etc. but I feel incompetent as a guitarist as a whole. What sort of direction should I go in to get better? Learning Underoath songs and riffs isn't helping me improve as a guitarist and I'm just curious as to what sort of steps I should take to improve from here. Thanks!
Write your own music. Listen to more of other people's music.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
I would suggest you learn the different "modes" of the major scale. They will allow you to solo outside of the pentatonics. Learn these shapes in the key of G, and you can move them to change key. These will allow you to learn shapes of what notes are in each key, and will allow you to use the whole fretboard

Ionian (Major)
Dorian (Minor, with 6th normal)
Phrygian (Minor, b2)
Lydian (Major, #4)
Mixo - Lydian (Major, b7)
Aeolian (Minor)
Locrian (Minor, b3, b7)

In the key of G you can play
G- Ionian
A-Dorian
B-Phrygian
C-Lydian
D-Mixo
E-Aeolian (sp?)
F-Locrian
Well what do you want to improve in your guitar playing?

I for instance, am completely satisfied with my riffing ability, but really need to get better at soloing. I recently had a revelation "Wow, maybe the reason I'm so much better at riffing than soloing is that ALL I KNOW IS RIFFS!" It seemed obvious once I thought of it, but I had always kinda put off learning guitar solos because its more difficult. I aim to fix that now by learning solos to songs I already know some of.