When fingerpicking, my thumb always and I mean ALWAYS hits the string above it. If I use my thumb to pluck the 5th string, a part of it will hit the 6th string and mute it. If I pluck the 4th string with my thumb, a part of it will hit the 5th string. It's just something that has to happen in order for me to hit the strings right but I'm pretty sure it's not supposed to happen. Is this bad and how do I prevent it?
I have 2 possible solutions:

1) more practice

2) buy a thumbpick
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Not a quick fix but have you tried learning any flamenco guitar techniques? They focus so much on the picking style that it could help you relieve any of those problems. Sure might take some time though
BTW, I'm not mocking you- it took me a lot of practice to avoid the very thing you're talking about. I DID try a thumbpick, but found it even more awkward. However, using it did force me to alter my thumb position eeeeeever so slightly- when I gave up the thumbpick, I didn't have the problem with my thumb anymore.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Quote by DudE132
When fingerpicking, my thumb always and I mean ALWAYS hits the string above it. If I use my thumb to pluck the 5th string, a part of it will hit the 6th string and mute it. If I pluck the 4th string with my thumb, a part of it will hit the 5th string. It's just something that has to happen in order for me to hit the strings right but I'm pretty sure it's not supposed to happen. Is this bad and how do I prevent it?

It's all about your hand posture.