This is more for electric-acoustics but...

should the onboard turner accurately represent the note being played for a particular fret?

For instance, if you hold down the first fret on the 6th string (bass E is 6th right?? ) should the onboard turner say F?

I'm testing each fret and so far finding that about 20% of them are off by a half step.

Is this a sign of a poor craftsmanship which will require repair/adjustments or is this normal for acoustics? I'm sure physics may have something to do with this, but damn it Jim I'm a doctor not a physicists!
If you're holding down the first fret on the 6th string and getting an F, the tuner is trying to tell you something - it's an F.

If you play all open notes, you should get EADGBE, from 6th down to 1st.

Which guitar are you writing about? What are you seeing displayed when you play that F? What do you see when you tune the open strings?

Edit: FWIW, it's a well known fact that the tuning on most guitars drifts as you fret notes. Your best bet is to use the tuner with open notes. Buzz Feiten, and others, have come up with systems to overcome this, however they require specialized guitar tuners.
Last edited by KG6_Steven at Apr 12, 2012,
I don't know how the onboard tuner on your guitar works but in general yes, it should read the correct note on every fret. If it's up to a half step off on some frets then your guitar has some major intonation issues which may be the result of: A warped neck, a misplaced bridge, or improper fret spacing. A warp neck can be fixed with a truss rod adjustment. A misplaced bridge on an acoustic will probably need to be removed then re-glued in the proper position. If the frets are off then I'd just forget about the guitar.
Quote by chiefboo
This is more for electric-acoustics but...

should the onboard turner accurately represent the note being played for a particular fret?