Hello UG, i'm in the process of writing a song with the help of a buddy (He wrote drums and the first breakdown) for a band I recently joined. I'm a self taught guitarist and that's really my sole instrument. I've been interested in songwriting for awhile now but I never complete my music projects due to frustration from writers block... So maybe you guys and gals can help me with some creative criticism!

First off...

- I JUST started listening to metalcore and the like so I pretty much wrote from inspiration that seemingly came out of my butt, so apologies if it isn't what i say it was

-Intro might be changed due to sounding a bit like a black veil brides and an avenged sevenfold song

- The synth part doesn't sound too good and I couldn't make it resemble anything like the FL program.

- Since I have gp6 and not gp5 there may be some errors in my export to that file type.

and thanks for listening!
Attachments:
Hay Needlestack.mid
Hay Needlestack.gpx
Hay Needlestack gp5 fix.gp5
umm.... the first riff... yeah i'll just let someone else say it.
The opening sounds practically identical to Avenged Sevenfold's Unholy Confessions. In fact, it's almost an exact rip off.

There. said it.
Yea and that really bums me out. I haven't even heard that song before I wrote this (my bandmates tipped me off) so it surprised me a lot. That part is definitely going to be taken out and replaced.

Anything else about it?
Last edited by ratiugreyalp at Apr 14, 2012,
Im wondering why people keep doing these metalcore/post-hc songs... They all sound the same and this isnt a exception. This bored me alot
Metal is like a apple, no-one likes the core.
Quote by Gessu
Im wondering why people keep doing these metalcore/post-hc songs... They all sound the same and this isnt a exception. This bored me alot