Page 1 of 3
Just looking for opinions here. I really want to join up, I'm planning on enlisting this week. Have been considering it ever since I graduated high school in 09, and have been planning on it for a year now. My daughter turns 1 year this April. Don't know if the pit has any military in it, but what do you guys think? Is it a good decision, selfish and bad decision, straight bad decision... etc.

Just a little background - college sucks. I don't have time to study or do homework and when I do, I'm overrun with feelings of futility because school work is little but pointless and cyclical (not looking for a debate here). Home life is boring, monotonous, and disengaging. I have little social life. All jobs are dead ends, pay too little, or require more skill.

Please, I am not looking for things I should have or shouldn't have done. What have you guys got for me?
UG's condensed package of adrenaline

i am not liable for anything stated above
▼ but he is ▼
Military life is hard on family.
“Ignorance more frequently begets confidence than does knowledge.”
Charles Darwin
Quote by jakesmellspoo
sounds like you're thinking of joining for the wrong reasons.

What are the 'right' reasons?
Charles Darwin
Quote by jakesmellspoo
sounds like you're thinking of joining for the wrong reasons.
I agree with this statement. This is like last week's episode of Mad Men. Help your wife/girlfriend/whoever raise your daughter. Change majors if homework is that disengaging.
Quote by Arby911
What are the 'right' reasons?

money, travel, security, respect, social life, healthcare, jobs, excitment, give back to country... pretty much every reason there is to join the army, ive got it. You know 1/3 of all presidents had military experience? Also I get access too jobs within fbi, cia, ss... with an accounting job in the army i can go anywhere.

▼ but he is ▼