So, I've been playing guitar for around 10 months now (I first got my guitar in June last year), and I've been having a lot of trouble with alternate picking; I just cant pick one string up and down, in a constant rhythm, if that makes sense. I was just wondering if I should alternate pick this when I'm practising? The tab is as follows:

e|--------------------|
B|--------------------|
G|--------------------|
D|--------------------|
A|---------0-1-0-----|
E|-0-0-3---------3--|

The song is Death To All But Metal - Steel Panther if anyone was wondering.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yfB7vF7nCdA&ob=av3e
Last edited by BVBKilljoy at Apr 14, 2012,
it depends on speed, if it's not fast you can downpick it, alternate picking is mainly used where downpicking is too hard or impossible
I use economy picking mostly, and that what I would use there. Unless you want the more aggressive sound of the alternative picking.
Want Sub-Forums For GB&C, CLICK and Comment to Help the Right People Notice.
I'd definitely recommend alternate picking it, in fact, if you can't alternate pick, I wouldn't tackle any new songs until you've drilled it into your head. I don't wanna be 'that guy', but if you haven't got a teacher, try to get one, because alternate picking can be irritating if you try to start it on your own, as can any technique, you really need a teacher who can critique your technique ^_^
I alternate pick that, it works the best for me. Test both alternate and down, see what feels and sounds best to you, then use that.
Fusion and jazz musician, a fan of most music.

Quote by Guthrie Govan
“If you steal from one person it's theft, and if you steal from lots of people it's research”

Quote by Chick Corea
"Only play what you hear. If you don't hear anything, don't play anything."
Yes alternate picking, but be sure to play off beats with up strokes and beats with down. Remain the alternating motion in your right hand even when holding a quarter note by strumming the air.