Thinking about starting a new band. I'm a guitarist/singer/songwriter but I play bass very well if necessary. I formed a band about a year ago but the drummer wasn't right and we all had creative differences. There wasn't a collective aim within the group. Example, the drummer was into deathcore metal and so every song I wrote and brought to the group he would read and suggest where we can add screams and a metal breakdown.. To be honest, I'm into good music from any genre but that's not the kind of music I write.
Nothing is set in stone for me yet and I am going to university in 2013 if nothing takes off for me here. I'm 18 so people around my age group would be great, but of course I would turn nobody away without a trial/audition. I'm not gonna NOT give you a chance just because of your age. As for band genre, I love anything really, but I would like to focus on Rock music in general. I'm all for adding screaming to a few songs but I don't write metal songs. If you write songs too, that's great because I don't want the pressure to be all on me. I'd love to bring a few different styles together. Just to give you an idea of my style, some of my favourite bands are Fleetwood Mac, Garbage, Punchline, Bayside and Blondie. A lot of the songs I write are a similar sound to Bayside (awesome band if you haven't heard of them. You should have a listen.) It's sort of heavy rock but not OTT. I like to mix up genres a lot and experiment musically. Creative ideas from other people would be fantastic.