Page 12 of 12
pitch154
Registered User
Join date: Mar 2008
220 IQ
#441
Hey guys, I'm looking to get something to record some guitar stuff. I dont really know anything about anything when it comes to recording devices and cables and whatnot. Wondering if you guys could help me out? Looking for something thats easy to use and really cheap. Not looking to break the bank (university student), just something that will let me record some tracks. Wondering if someone could help me and tell me everything that I'd need to get this done

Thanks
Spambot_2
UG's rum aficionado
Join date: Jan 2013
1,824 IQ
#442
I don't wanna be rude or anything, but did you read the first 4 posts of this thread?
Name's Luca.

Quote by OliOsbourne
I don't know anything about this topic, but I just clicked on this thread because of your username :O
Quote by Cajundaddy
Clue: amplifiers amplify so don't turn it on if you need quiet.
Quote by chrismendiola
I guess spambots are now capable of reading minds.
Mason Bruce
Registered User
Join date: May 2014
234 IQ
#443
This is great information. Just what I needed to know about getting started recording my first song, thanks! I think I'm going to go with the scarlet 2i4.
Last edited by Mason Bruce at May 12, 2014,
6-String_Madman
...
Join date: Jan 2012
1,652 IQ
#444
Hi Guys! I would like to hear your opinion on my current guitar recording setup and would ask for any suggestions to improve it a bit. Here's my chain:

Guitar > Vox AD15VT (modeller amp) > M-Audio Fast Track > Adobe Audition 3.0

Cheers!
chatterbox272
Registered User
Join date: May 2011
1,237 IQ
#445
Quote by 6-String_Madman
Hi Guys! I would like to hear your opinion on my current guitar recording setup and would ask for any suggestions to improve it a bit. Here's my chain:

Guitar > Vox AD15VT (modeller amp) > M-Audio Fast Track > Adobe Audition 3.0

Cheers!

I'd ditch the valvetronix from your chain, just go direct. The only time I've heard decent sounds for recording from one is a VT40+ that was modified to take external cabinets and we mic'd it up. And even then it was only comparable to software amp sims.
nuithari
Registered User
Join date: Aug 2013
10 IQ
#446
Hey Guys,

Long time lurker, but first time poster here :P

I'd like to start recording my guitar on my pc. But I got a limited budget. Let's say I have about 100 euros to spend.

From the OP, only the Line6 Studio GX is at around that price. But from my experience with line 6 (I have a Spider 3) I'd like to avoid them. (Unless you guys say it's really a good DI for that budget)

How about the Steinberg CI1, is this good? Or is there anything else that you'd recommend in that price range or am I really just better off spending 80 euros more and getting the Scarlett 2i4?

Important for me, is that I can monitor from reaper, with the effects on, without noticable latency. Is that even possible? (It is what Line6 claims to be able to do on their gx)

Thanks
Last edited by nuithari at Jul 4, 2014,
GaryBillington
Last of a Dyin' Breed
Join date: Nov 2001
1,309 IQ
#447
Don't compare the rest of Line 6's products to your Spider, that's known as one of the worst amps ever but most of the rest of their range is quite good.

That said, if you can afford the extra for the Scarlett, it's worth investing extra - always remember, buy cheap = buy twice. Possibly check ebay for used ones, that should make it more affordable.
.
Gibson LP Traditional, LP Studio, SG Standard x2
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm > TC Polytune > MXR Custom Badass 78 > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
Laney VC30
Marshall TSL602
Jet City JCA22H

My SoundCloud
JohnProphet
Registered User
Join date: Jun 2014
120 IQ
#448
maybe a dumb question but...

so I have a focusrite214 that I haven't unboxed yet. As far as final audio output to the monitors, is that going to come thru my computer headphone jack or will that come back thru the focusrite?

The reason I am asking is because my comp headphone jack is loose and u have to hold the cable down to her both channels lol.
Spambot_2
UG's rum aficionado
Join date: Jan 2013
1,824 IQ
#449
If you use the 2i4 as audio output device, the audio will come out of it and you'll have no need for loose headphones jacks whatsoever.
Name's Luca.

Quote by OliOsbourne
I don't know anything about this topic, but I just clicked on this thread because of your username :O
Quote by Cajundaddy
Clue: amplifiers amplify so don't turn it on if you need quiet.
Quote by chrismendiola
I guess spambots are now capable of reading minds.
JohnProphet
Registered User
Join date: Jun 2014
120 IQ
#450
Quote by Spambot_2
If you use the 2i4 as audio output device, the audio will come out of it and you'll have no need for loose headphones jacks whatsoever.



ok, you are talking about doing that in reaper (just for recording purposes), or in windows (for everything)?

the comp will be used for recording and general use, I only have 1 comp at the moment
Spambot_2
UG's rum aficionado
Join date: Jan 2013
1,824 IQ
#451
Quote by JohnProphet
ok, you are talking about doing that in reaper (just for recording purposes), or in windows (for everything)?
Whatever you prefer - either only one or both.
Name's Luca.

Quote by OliOsbourne
I don't know anything about this topic, but I just clicked on this thread because of your username :O
Quote by Cajundaddy
Clue: amplifiers amplify so don't turn it on if you need quiet.
Quote by chrismendiola
I guess spambots are now capable of reading minds.
Biffman
Registered User
Join date: Feb 2009
184 IQ
#452
Hi there everyone, just a quick question regarding interfaces. At the moment I am running from a Studio Projects VTB1 tube preamp directly into my pc via a jack to mini jack converter using my onboard realtek HD audio drivers. Now because the VTB1 is not an interface is me going directly into my pc bottle necking it? If so I have recently stumbled upon the Behringer XENYX 302USB mixer/interface which seems like exactly what I'd need for a basic interface because its relatively inexpensive and I'll be using the VTB1 preamp through it. Anyone have any experience with this? And would it be a worth while investment?
GaryBillington
Last of a Dyin' Breed
Join date: Nov 2001
1,309 IQ
#453
Quote by Biffman
Hi there everyone, just a quick question regarding interfaces. At the moment I am running from a Studio Projects VTB1 tube preamp directly into my pc via a jack to mini jack converter using my onboard realtek HD audio drivers. Now because the VTB1 is not an interface is me going directly into my pc bottle necking it? If so I have recently stumbled upon the Behringer XENYX 302USB mixer/interface which seems like exactly what I'd need for a basic interface because its relatively inexpensive and I'll be using the VTB1 preamp through it. Anyone have any experience with this? And would it be a worth while investment?

It would definitely be better than using the method you're currently using, if only because you won't be at risk of damaging your PC.

Have you read through the recommendations on the first page?
.
Gibson LP Traditional, LP Studio, SG Standard x2
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm > TC Polytune > MXR Custom Badass 78 > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
Laney VC30
Marshall TSL602
Jet City JCA22H

My SoundCloud
Biffman
Registered User
Join date: Feb 2009
184 IQ
#454
I have yes, just wanted to clarify due to it not being guitar di into the pc. Thanks for the advice, much appreciated
Spambot_2
UG's rum aficionado
Join date: Jan 2013
1,824 IQ
#456
No audio interface with more than 8 inputs have pre's, so you'll need two interfaces or one interface + a unit with pre's and a digital output.

My first choice on the relatively cheap would be two mackie onyx blackbird's or one of them + a behringer ADA8200.

Or, if budget's a problem, do some research and try some stuff and use up to 8 mic's so you can get away with one interface only.
Name's Luca.

Quote by OliOsbourne
I don't know anything about this topic, but I just clicked on this thread because of your username :O
Quote by Cajundaddy
Clue: amplifiers amplify so don't turn it on if you need quiet.
Quote by chrismendiola
I guess spambots are now capable of reading minds.