Banandrew
Registered User
Join date: Mar 2011
173 IQ
#1
I paid for two of the ultimate guitar apps (ultimate guitar tabs and tabs pro) on my android phone, but when i try to open them an error message comes up:

Checking license of Application
Error contacting licensing server.


Can anyone tell me what is wrong and/or provide a solution?
Ian Paul Gint
UG Team
Join date: Feb 2012
533 IQ
#2
Quote by Banandrew
I paid for two of the ultimate guitar apps (ultimate guitar tabs and tabs pro) on my android phone, but when i try to open them an error message comes up:

Checking license of Application
Error contacting licensing server.


Can anyone tell me what is wrong and/or provide a solution?


It's a minor glitch and it usually goes away after couple tries. Please let us know if the problem persists on any of your apps (Ultimate Guitar Tabs, Tab Pro add-on or Tab Pro standalone).
No luck catching dem swans?
31770
Registered User
Join date: Jan 2009
10 IQ
#3
I get the same problem - doesn't fix itself after a few tries, just persists until the app force closes.

Any suggestions to geta connection to the license server?
clemensFUE
Registered User
Join date: Jul 2012
10 IQ
#4
Same problem here...
Got the Tabs-App on Friday (HTC Sensation XE, Android 4.0) and still can't run it. Any ideas?
clemensFUE
Registered User
Join date: Jul 2012
10 IQ
#6
Thanks for nothing, but since the latest update, it's working.
matselias
Registered User
Join date: Jul 2012
10 IQ
#7
I have similar problem:I just bought the app ultimate guitar tabs to my HTC Hero, but after downloaded it, phone shows "loading resources" and then "The process was stopped".
I can´t open it! I re-installed and restarted the phone, nothing helps. Suggestions?
clemensFUE
Registered User
Join date: Jul 2012
10 IQ
#8
Quote by matselias
I have similar problem:I just bought the app ultimate guitar tabs to my HTC Hero, but after downloaded it, phone shows "loading resources" and then "The process was stopped".
I can´t open it! I re-installed and restarted the phone, nothing helps. Suggestions?


Try to wait for the next update - at least for me, this worked quite well ;-)
EvT1991
Registered User
Join date: Dec 2012
10 IQ
#9
Quote by Ian Paul Gint
It's a minor glitch and it usually goes away after couple tries. Please let us know if the problem persists on any of your apps (Ultimate Guitar Tabs, Tab Pro add-on or Tab Pro standalone).


I have tried uninstalling/reinstalling multiple times, also tried just letting it do its own thing, and nothing happens, it gives me the error as soon as i open it, i push retry and then it just stays there, showing me a black screen with tabs written on top of the screen

I purchased the tabs, and tabs pro add on, and am using an aluratek cinepad, running 4.03 if it makes a difference