RoyalT_996
30 IQ
Greetings fellow luthiers both young and old, to my second build thread!

This time, I will be taking a modern spin on an old classic: A neck-thru style SG shape.

As it is my first build for a customer, I shall spare no expense in documenting this formidable task, for I wish to inspire and amaze(and perhaps get another job or two out of this)!

And now, Luthiers and Luthiettes, the moment you have been waiting for:

SPECS

Body Shape: SG
Hardware Colour: Chrome

Neck
Construction: Neck-thru
Tuners: Grover Locking 2 x 3
Nut size/material: Graphtech
String Spacing: 42mm
#of frets: 24
Neck wood: 5 piece maple/purpleheart/maple/purpleheart/maple
Fretboard: striped ebony
Scale: 24 3/4
Radius: 12" - 16"
Headstock shape: Cane Custom
Headstock Veneer: Ebony
Bindings: Fretboard and headstock - White
Finish: Tru-oil

Body
Wood: Mahogany wings w/ Wenge accent
Contours: SG
Bridge: Schaller roller TOM
Tailpiece: Schaller Fine tune
Strap Buttons: Chrome
Finish: Tru-oil

Electronics
Pickup Config: 2 Humbucker
Bridge: Bill Lawrence
Neck: Bill Lawrence
Switch: 3 way
Controls: 2 Vol
Control Cavity Material: Mahogany
Knobs: Black Metal Cap

...Okay, no one was actually waiting for that. But now the moment that you have really all been waiting for!

PICS

Initial Mockup

Maple and Purpleheart

Gluing

Mock-up with wings
nowa90
Strike the Earth!
341 IQ
like the neck lams! What program did you use to make the mockup?
Just call me Julius, J, etc.
Taking an Internet break for a while, will come on when I can.
RoyalT_996
30 IQ
Progress!

Mahogany wings cut.

In order to account for the neck angle, Instead of trying to plane the neck down, I've decided to angle the wings of the body.

In order to keep the wings in place on the angle, I've inserted dowels into the wings...

...which fit into the core thusly.

I messed up on my original fingerboard, only allowing for 22 frets instead of 24 despite lining it up several times, so I had to go with another one.