desmond27
Registered User
Join date: Jul 2011
273 IQ
#1
Hi,

I own a ESP LTD M-50 guitar and a Roland Micro Cube. I have never owned a distortion pedal and would like to get one to grind my teeth on. I mainly play metal and rock and occasionally try on some blues stuff. I want something that is versatile on a budget, my budget being around $90 (Rs. 5000 or less if you are Indian).

I've the following in my mind :

Boss DS-1.
Digitech Death Metal.
EHX Micro Metal Muff.

Please comment on these and suggest others which are better.
Gear : ESP LTD-M-50, Roland Micro Cube.
My Blog :
desmond27
Registered User
Join date: Jul 2011
273 IQ
#2
PS: Also let me know how good a multi effects processor is at reproducing the same effects as a standalone pedal. I've thinking about the Digitech RP-90 as a later investment.
Gear : ESP LTD-M-50, Roland Micro Cube.
My Blog :
danresn
Registered User
Join date: Jan 2012
71 IQ
#4
I've only used the actual metal muff from electro harmonix, but it and all the rest of their pedals for that matter are fantastic
GaryBillington
Last of a Dyin' Breed
Join date: Nov 2001
1,309 IQ
#5
Quote by desmond27
PS: Also let me know how good a multi effects processor is at reproducing the same effects as a standalone pedal. I've thinking about the Digitech RP-90 as a later investment.

As a rule, the individual effects on a multi effects unit aren't as good as you can get if you purchase each individual pedal, however you obviously get a lot more different effects for your money, with your other kit you won't notice a difference in quality, and it would allow you to experiment with effects while you determine which ones you actually need to create the sound you're after.
.
Gibson LP Traditional, LP Studio, SG Standard x2
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm > TC Polytune > MXR Custom Badass 78 > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
Laney VC30
Marshall TSL602
Jet City JCA22H

My SoundCloud
AndyGray
UG Addict
Join date: Sep 2003
1,267 IQ
#6
I've been in a band with a guy who used the death metal pedal & I can honestly say it is ****ing terrible. It just produces a horrible noisy distortion - (which is great it thats the sound you are aiming for).

Both the Boss DS-1 & DS-2 are defiantly worth checking out.
91RG350
At least Microsoft cared
Join date: May 2011
281 IQ
#7
I vote for the DS-1... just dont make the noob mistake of turning all knobs full right and expecting it to sound great...
Quote by AlanHB
It's the same as all other harmony. Surround yourself with skulls and candles if it helps.
shredder1980
Registered User
Join date: Mar 2012
31 IQ
#8
The best I have ever played bar none is the Line 6 Uber metal pedal. It can do everything from overdrive to really chuggy metal. It should also be quite cheap nowadays.
krehzeekid
Me like guitars
Join date: Dec 2009
316 IQ
#9
DS-1. it is just a good all-around distortion pedal (it doesn't do extreme tones, but it will help your amp do them). best of all, as you upgrade your amp and guitar, the DS-1 will continue to sound good with better gear.
Don't sweat the petty things and don't pet the sweaty things...
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl
Join date: Mar 2005
2,967 IQ
#10
will it sound any better than the high gain amp models on your cube? I doubt it will, unless ou fork out for an expensive one (and there's little point in doing that, if you ask me).
Quote by classicrocker01
Only on UG would I say I got engaged and bought a jet city and get congratulated on the amp


Grunt344
Registered User
Join date: Jul 2008
230 IQ
#11
hardwire metal distortion. you should at least try it.
desmond27
Registered User
Join date: Jul 2011
273 IQ
#12
The reason I want a pedal is because I feel that my amp lacks gain and I am unable to find a patch similar to Lamb Of God's (or for that matter any artist's) sound.

The amp has the following amp-models for distortion:

VOX AC30
Marshall JMP
Mesa/Boogie Rectifier.
Gear : ESP LTD-M-50, Roland Micro Cube.
My Blog :
Jyrgen
Used Register
Join date: Jan 2010
2,049 IQ
#13
The best way to get a LOG tone out of that thing is to stick to the Mesa model.

That being said, you can not really expect a practice amp sound like a tube amp being played loud through a large speaker cabinet which is what guitarists tend to do to get their tone.

Chances are that a distortion pedal will not help. They tend not to work to their full capacity with cheap modelling practice amps. You should instead save for a better amp.
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl
Join date: Mar 2005
2,967 IQ
#14
that amp should have tons of gain

you're using the r-fier model, right?
Quote by classicrocker01
Only on UG would I say I got engaged and bought a jet city and get congratulated on the amp


monwobobbo
Registered User
Join date: Jul 2009
607 IQ
#15
Quote by Dave_Mc
will it sound any better than the high gain amp models on your cube? I doubt it will, unless ou fork out for an expensive one (and there's little point in doing that, if you ask me).


a pedal really won't make any difference. keep in mind that your amp has some limitations and a pedal won't give you that tight bass or sparkling highs. the speaker set up really will limit your amps tonal abilites. tinker with the onboard stuff you have and learn to get the best out of them, in the mean time save for a better amp.
desmond27
Registered User
Join date: Jul 2011
273 IQ
#17
I have bought a Behringer TP Tremolo pedal, but I did not know that it needs to be the last in the effect chain and that there is some overdrive/distortion needed before it. Is there anyway to use it or do I need a distortion/overdrive pedal?
Gear : ESP LTD-M-50, Roland Micro Cube.
My Blog :
desmond27
Registered User
Join date: Jul 2011
273 IQ
#18
If I need a overdrive pedal, which one would be the best cheap "more bang for the buck" pedal? I do not wish to spend more than around $50 to $55.
Gear : ESP LTD-M-50, Roland Micro Cube.
My Blog :
Last edited by desmond27 at Nov 7, 2012,
desmond27
Registered User
Join date: Jul 2011
273 IQ
#19
...Or do I need a compressor to obtain some sustain instead of the OD/Distortion?
Gear : ESP LTD-M-50, Roland Micro Cube.
My Blog :
steven seagull
not really a seagull
Join date: Oct 2006
1,064 IQ
#20
None of these are gong to provide a solution to the problem you have when you're usuing a Microcube.

I have a Microcube, and it's a fantastic little practice amp, more so when I compare it to some of the pieces of crap I used when I was first learning. I love it, I think it's the dogs bollocks for what it is but I'm also conscious of it's limitations, but I accept them because of the things it DOES do.

What it isn't is a full-blown gigging/recording amp. It's designed to be a complete little all-in-one package, it's got a tiny speaker which is optimised for working with the inbuilt models - it's not going to respond well if you start sticking pedals through it or trying to run too much gain through it, and you certainly can't "boost" it.

The one pedal you can buy which might help is an EQ, as the onboard EQ on the Microcube is admittedly non-existent.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.


stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
GaryBillington
Last of a Dyin' Breed
Join date: Nov 2001
1,309 IQ
#21
First thing: You're supposed to edit your post, not keep bumping the thread with a new one.

In those three posts, you're asking three completely different questions, which just makes me think you need to do a lot more general research into what effects are and how to use them. There are probably lots of articles on UG about it, but google found this one first: http://www.harmonycentral.com/docs/DOC-1351

To provide a basic answer to your questions:

1 - Yes, tremelo usually would come towards the end of an effects chain. If you're currently using your amp's distortion, does it have an effects loop built in? If it does, put the tremelo there rather than inbetween your guitar & amp. If you don't have an effects loop, you'll either have to live with it being before the distortion or get a separate distortion pedal.

2 - Joyo make some good pedals that are highly regarded and cheaply priced. Definitely better than behringer.

3 - Yes, a lot of compressors have a sustain controller so if sustain is what you're after that could be the way to go. However, a compressor is not a distortion pedal so if distortion is what you're after, a compressor is not the answer.
.
Gibson LP Traditional, LP Studio, SG Standard x2
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm > TC Polytune > MXR Custom Badass 78 > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
Laney VC30
Marshall TSL602
Jet City JCA22H

My SoundCloud
RJH11
Tone chaser
Join date: Nov 2012
1,330 IQ
#22
MXR Fulbore Metal gets my vote though i just sold it and went all tube i used it for years to
get various metal tones.
desmond27
Registered User
Join date: Jul 2011
273 IQ
#23
Quote by steven seagull
None of these are gong to provide a solution to the problem you have when you're usuing a Microcube.

I have a Microcube, and it's a fantastic little practice amp, more so when I compare it to some of the pieces of crap I used when I was first learning. I love it, I think it's the dogs bollocks for what it is but I'm also conscious of it's limitations, but I accept them because of the things it DOES do.

What it isn't is a full-blown gigging/recording amp. It's designed to be a complete little all-in-one package, it's got a tiny speaker which is optimised for working with the inbuilt models - it's not going to respond well if you start sticking pedals through it or trying to run too much gain through it, and you certainly can't "boost" it.

The one pedal you can buy which might help is an EQ, as the onboard EQ on the Microcube is admittedly non-existent.


Very well, but how do I resolve my issue with the Tremolo pedal? I want to play Boulevard by Green Day and I want to be able to switch the intro tremolo on or off. Will it suffice if I connect the guitar directly to the tremolo pedal and then the amp or do I need something between the guitar and the tremolo pedal?
Gear : ESP LTD-M-50, Roland Micro Cube.
My Blog :
desmond27
Registered User
Join date: Jul 2011
273 IQ
#24
Quote by GaryBillington
First thing: You're supposed to edit your post, not keep bumping the thread with a new one.

In those three posts, you're asking three completely different questions, which just makes me think you need to do a lot more general research into what effects are and how to use them. There are probably lots of articles on UG about it, but google found this one first: http://www.harmonycentral.com/docs/DOC-1351

To provide a basic answer to your questions:

1 - Yes, tremelo usually would come towards the end of an effects chain. If you're currently using your amp's distortion, does it have an effects loop built in? If it does, put the tremelo there rather than inbetween your guitar & amp. If you don't have an effects loop, you'll either have to live with it being before the distortion or get a separate distortion pedal.

2 - Joyo make some good pedals that are highly regarded and cheaply priced. Definitely better than behringer.

3 - Yes, a lot of compressors have a sustain controller so if sustain is what you're after that could be the way to go. However, a compressor is not a distortion pedal so if distortion is what you're after, a compressor is not the answer.


Sorry for the multi post. I am used to those forums which merge quick replies. This one does not have that feature so will take some getting used to.

One of my previous posts in this thread describes my amp or you can look here : http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/reviews/guitar_amplifiers/roland/micro_cube/index.html

Now, there is no effects loop AFAIK. There is one input socket, one aux input and a headphones/output socket. I also happen to own a pluggable micro amp for sometime, can I use it to drive the tremolo before connecting it to the amp (Roland)?

Like I mentioned in my previous post, I want to do a Boulevard and want to be able to switch on or off the tremolo effect as required.
Gear : ESP LTD-M-50, Roland Micro Cube.
My Blog :
GaryBillington
Last of a Dyin' Breed
Join date: Nov 2001
1,309 IQ
#25
Then as you don't have an effects loop, you'll just have to put your tremelo pedal between the guitar and amp - that means you probably won't get the full effect of it though, as any tremelo it adds to the signal will then be re-processed by the amp.
.
Gibson LP Traditional, LP Studio, SG Standard x2
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm > TC Polytune > MXR Custom Badass 78 > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
Laney VC30
Marshall TSL602
Jet City JCA22H

My SoundCloud
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl
Join date: Mar 2005
2,967 IQ
#26
Quote by desmond27
Very well, but how do I resolve my issue with the Tremolo pedal? I want to play Boulevard by Green Day and I want to be able to switch the intro tremolo on or off. Will it suffice if I connect the guitar directly to the tremolo pedal and then the amp or do I need something between the guitar and the tremolo pedal?


no that'll be fine. guitar -> tremolo pedal -> amp should be fine.
Quote by classicrocker01
Only on UG would I say I got engaged and bought a jet city and get congratulated on the amp


desmond27
Registered User
Join date: Jul 2011
273 IQ
#27
I've tried out the Guitar > Tremolo > Amp layout and I've noticed that if I use delay on the amp, it gets applied to each "chop" of the tremoloed signal. It does not sound very pleasant (not very noticeable, but not very pleasant either).

I've been thinking something. Since my amp has an aux input as well, what if I put connect the input of the tremolo pedal with the headphone/output and the output of the tremolo to the aux in and the guitar to the regular input? Would it work? I cannot try it yet since I do not have any extra cables.
Gear : ESP LTD-M-50, Roland Micro Cube.
My Blog :
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl
Join date: Mar 2005
2,967 IQ
#28
i'm not sure if that'd work or not, but i doubt it.

and yeah that's the problem when you have a whole bunch of internal fx and one external- you can't play about with the orders. if you had a tremolo and delay pedal, for example, you could swap the order to avoid that happening. though whether you'd actually want to use tremolo alongside delay, i dunno- thinking about it logically, you're either going to have delayed tremolo, or tremoloed delay. Both of which are liable to sound kinda weird. reverb + tremolo might be a better idea.
Quote by classicrocker01
Only on UG would I say I got engaged and bought a jet city and get congratulated on the amp


desmond27
Registered User
Join date: Jul 2011
273 IQ
#29
Well, I am not talking about a discrete delay pedal, but the delay on the amp itself.

PS: I should probably start a new thread :P
Gear : ESP LTD-M-50, Roland Micro Cube.
My Blog :
Last edited by desmond27 at Nov 12, 2012,
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl
Join date: Mar 2005
2,967 IQ
#30
yeah i know, i was just thinking out loud

have you tried reverb on the amp with your tremolo pedal?
Quote by classicrocker01
Only on UG would I say I got engaged and bought a jet city and get congratulated on the amp


timmymaines
Registered User
Join date: May 2008
769 IQ
#31
ds-1 i own and its not bad but not great for metal... check out the boss metal zone..
desmond27
Registered User
Join date: Jul 2011
273 IQ
#32
I've heard that the Metal Zone has a little too much gain (or was it the Digitech DeathMetal, I don't remember).

Besides, the Metal Zone costs $124 (Dollar equivalent of Rupees) here, I cannot afford that much yet.
Gear : ESP LTD-M-50, Roland Micro Cube.
My Blog :