johnson84
Registered User
Join date: Jun 2010
80 IQ
#1
Hey,

I bought POD HD 500. I would like to use amp and all effects from from POD.
How do I need to setup it correctly to work with my real amplifier (I have 6505+ head and ENGL 4x12 cabinet) ? I don't want to use peavey's preamp, just want to use it for signal amplification.
Offworld92
One among the fence.
Join date: Nov 2009
520 IQ
#2
Sigh.

Who the hell buys a 6505 and then doesn't use the preamp? That's the entire point of that amp.

Anyway, just run the output from the POD into the return of the 6505 and you'll bypass the preamp.
Spin 'round carousel when your horse isn't screwed in.

My band:
Fractured Instinct
(For fans of Death/Groove/Prog Metal)

Ibanez RGA42E
Ibanez S420
LTD H-301
Ibanez RG520
Peavey Predator USA
Douglas Grendel 725
Line 6 Pod HD500X
Chaosinborn
Registered User
Join date: Jul 2007
170 IQ
#3
Quote by Offworld92
Sigh.

Who the hell buys a 6505 and then doesn't use the preamp? That's the entire point of that amp.

Anyway, just run the output from the POD into the return of the 6505 and you'll bypass the preamp.


This.

Alternatively: use your 6505 like a normal person and stick the pod in the loop for effects. You can set it up to control the channels on the amp as well so with the presets and your clean/crunch and lead channels you will have tons of options.
johnson84
Registered User
Join date: Jun 2010
80 IQ
#4
I understand if i will connect POD out -> amp's return then I will skip Peavey's preamp. So all front knobs will be useless. Then how I could control master volume on power amp, can I do it through POD's master knob ?
Tremolo Bum
Addicted to FR
Join date: Feb 2008
130 IQ
#5
Why on earth would you buy a 6505 to completely skip the preamp section and use a digital modeler?
johnson84
Registered User
Join date: Jun 2010
80 IQ
#6
I will use 6505+ preamp for recording rythm parts and playing live without any digital stuff. My POD HD is more for playing at home and recording solos (i have much more effects combination). Basically I am not going to not use my peavey's preamp at all. I am just doing some experiments. I will try also 6505+ as basic preamp and put POD HD in FX loop (4 cables method)
jpatan
UG's only REAL Llama
Join date: Sep 2009
140 IQ
#7
The master volume on the amp will control the power amp... I think on the 6505 it's called post gain. The preamp knobs are the only ones that will be useless in that configuration.

TBH I'm not sure if the EQ comes in before the power amp. I'm inclined to think it is, but try them out and see if they change anything.

I did this same setup on my Mark IV for quiet(ish) practice. Works pretty well, but it's no replacement for the real thing. You can get some pretty solid bedroom tones by using the master volume on the POD as your volume control.
Quote by tubetime86
He's obviously pretty young, and I'd guess he's being raised by wolves, or at least humans with the intellectual capacity and compassion of wolves.


You finally made it home, draped in the flag that you fell for.
And so it goes
DarthV
Registered User
Join date: Nov 2006
50 IQ
#8
If you want to just bypass, effects return. But I'd look at going 4CM that way you can have the best of both worlds. Use the POD's modeling + effects or use pod preamp effects + the 6505 preamp and more effects before hitting the power section.
Fleet of MiJ Ibanez
Fender HM Strat
POD HD500
Kemper KPA
johnson84
Registered User
Join date: Jun 2010
80 IQ
#9
I tried yesterday 2 cables method (connect pod out directly to Peavey's return). It sounds quite good.
Btw. I recognized when I connected to 6505+ power amp then I cannot control master level by post gain knob, the master level is 100 % fixed and I can controll full power only by POD master knob.

Next week I will do some experiments with 4 cable method as well.
Perverockstar69
Registered User
Join date: Jul 2011
270 IQ
#10
Explain to me the 4 cable method please, that's new for me.

Mesa Royal Atlantic
Laney LC15R
Emperor 4x12 Silver Bells
Gibson SG Standard
LTD Viper-500
Catalinbread Ottava Magus
Jim Dunlop CFH
MXR Carbon Copy
EHX Epitome
EHX Superego
Fuzz Hugger Algal Bloom
Way Huge Fat Sandwich
DarthV
Registered User
Join date: Nov 2006
50 IQ
#11
http://line6.com/support/docs/DOC-2523

Basically allows you to use pre preamp effects, the amp's preamp or the modeler's amp models, post preamp effects and then out to the power section of your amp. You can choose to either use your amp's preamp or a model, just depends on what you want for any specific patch.
Fleet of MiJ Ibanez
Fender HM Strat
POD HD500
Kemper KPA
Perverockstar69
Registered User
Join date: Jul 2011
270 IQ
#12
That's cool!

Mesa Royal Atlantic
Laney LC15R
Emperor 4x12 Silver Bells
Gibson SG Standard
LTD Viper-500
Catalinbread Ottava Magus
Jim Dunlop CFH
MXR Carbon Copy
EHX Epitome
EHX Superego
Fuzz Hugger Algal Bloom
Way Huge Fat Sandwich
gulay760
Registered User
Join date: Jul 2013
10 IQ
#13
Quote by johnson84


Next week I will do some experiments with 4 cable method as well.



Did it work ? Were you able to control the amps channels with pod?