trashedlostfdup
diet coke fiend.
Join date: Apr 2010
13,435 IQ
#1
according to the manual i read on line for my pitchblack it says it needs a 9V 600mA adapter. i am not finding them easily though. most of them are 500mA that i have found.

korg says to use their adapter (obviously), and the one time i am ready to pay for an adapter, korg doesn't make it or i haven't seen where i looked.

is over 600 mA okay?

i want something quality so i can run a small board as it only puts 200mA output, so that will get what i need and would be more simple to bring along.

would this: http://www.musiciansfriend.com/accessories/visual-sound-multi-plug-5-cable-for-1-spot-adapter
work for the daisy chain?
WTLT 2014 GG&A

Quote by andersondb7
alright "king of the guitar forum"


Quote by trashedlostfdup
nope i am "GOD of the guitar forum" i think that fits me better.


Quote by andersondb7
youre just being a jerk man.
dannyalcatraz
Black Cherry Jello
Join date: Dec 2008
3,265 IQ
#2
I have a Korg Pitchblack- among other pedals- and I use a 1Spot (actually, more than one). It should do you just fine.

FYI, it comes with a manual that lets you know what pedals it has 100% compatibility
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!


alhaq369
It is very impotent to success a business.
jthm_guitarist
"funny" but "unmemorable"
Join date: Apr 2006
1,474 IQ
#3
Yes, over the required current is okay. It will only draw as much juice as it needs; just match the voltage and polarity.

Quote by emad
jthm_guitarist
Warned for trolling!


Quote by metal4eva_22
Didn't you say that you had a stuffed fox that you would occasionally fuck?

Quote by Axelfox
It's not a fox,it's a wolf.
Jesus_Dean
Jumpin´ Jiminy Jeezus!
Join date: Dec 2008
2,367 IQ
#4
You can probably get by with a lot less voltage.

http://stinkfoot.se/archives/823

According to this, your Korg uses a whole lot less than 600mA.
Arguing on the Internet is a lot like being in the Special Olympics. Even if you win you're still retarded
&baconstrips
Registered User
Join date: Apr 2011
601 IQ
#5
I run my pitchblack off a T.Rex Fueltank jr. which only puts out 120 mA per outlet. No problems at all and its plenty bright.
Kenneth
trashedlostfdup
diet coke fiend.
Join date: Apr 2010
13,435 IQ
#6
i think i may have confused you all a little bit. the pitch black has a power in and a power out. you can run 200mA off of the pitchblack to power a few more pedals. i am looking for. the manual calls for no less than 600mA

here is a quote from the manual:
DC 9 V OUT jack
If using an optional AC adapter, you can supply power to more than one effect
pedal with an optional DC cascade cable.
When using an optional DC cascade cable, make sure that the total amount
of current consumption for the connected pedals does not exceed 200 mA.
Furthermore, pay attention to the required polarity of the effect pedals when
connected.
Do not connect the AC adapter to the DC 9V OUT jack. Doing so will cause
a malfunction or damage.
If the pitchblack is activated using a battery, you cannot supply power
from the DC 9V OUT jack


Quote by dannyalcatraz
I have a Korg Pitchblack- among other pedals- and I use a 1Spot (actually, more than one). It should do you just fine.

FYI, it comes with a manual that lets you know what pedals it has 100% compatibility


i have the manual and the quote above.

so all i need is a 600mA 9v power supply and then the daisy chain work with it?
WTLT 2014 GG&A

Quote by andersondb7
alright "king of the guitar forum"


Quote by trashedlostfdup
nope i am "GOD of the guitar forum" i think that fits me better.


Quote by andersondb7
youre just being a jerk man.
jthm_guitarist
"funny" but "unmemorable"
Join date: Apr 2006
1,474 IQ
#7
Well the "in" and "out" DC jacks are probably just in parallel, so whatever you put in is what you get out. If you hook up a 600mA supply to your pitchblack, you will have 600mA minus whatever it takes to run the pitchblack to run your other pedals.

Quote by emad
jthm_guitarist
Warned for trolling!


Quote by metal4eva_22
Didn't you say that you had a stuffed fox that you would occasionally fuck?

Quote by Axelfox
It's not a fox,it's a wolf.
dannyalcatraz
Black Cherry Jello
Join date: Dec 2008
3,265 IQ
#8
I mean that my 1Spot is powering my Pitchblack...and other pedals. (And other 1Spots are powering still other pedals. Yes, I have lots of pedals. And an Octa-Switch.)
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!


alhaq369
It is very impotent to success a business.
trashedlostfdup
diet coke fiend.
Join date: Apr 2010
13,435 IQ
#9
Quote by dannyalcatraz
I mean that my 1Spot is powering my Pitchblack...and other pedals. (And other 1Spots are powering still other pedals. Yes, I have lots of pedals. And an Octa-Switch.)


i think everybody misunderstood what i was saying.

i know a 1 spot could power a pitchback. the pitch black has a power output for other pedals. it does not get what comes into the pedal, it puts out 200mA.

i want to use the additional 200mA that the out to run a really small board, an OD or two and a wah or delay tops.

for all of my pedals i have a BBE supa charger, which has 8 outs at 9V 12V and and i have some extra cables so i can run 18V if i want to.

and yea i saw in your profile that you had an octaswitch. those look pretty damn cool.
WTLT 2014 GG&A

Quote by andersondb7
alright "king of the guitar forum"


Quote by trashedlostfdup
nope i am "GOD of the guitar forum" i think that fits me better.


Quote by andersondb7
youre just being a jerk man.