Caaarrl94
Registered User
Join date: Sep 2012
3,004 IQ
#1
I'm thinking of buying a multi effects unit, and previously ruled the Zoom G3 out because of only being able to have 2 effects at one (if i chose an amp sim (which i would).
And also the processing power limit?

What i'm wondering is, with the new update allowing for 6 effects in 1 chain, is it worth it?
Just how easy is it to reach the processing power limit?
For example, could i have, the Tweed deluxe amp sim, compression, ce-1 chorus, reverb, tubescreamer and a univibe, all being used at the same time, for arguments sake, or would it limit that? if so, what would i be limited to?

Thanks
"I think the most important thing about music is the sense of escape." - Thom Yorke
lucky1978
Blues Kazooist
Join date: May 2008
920 IQ
#2
Just buy one and don't worry bout all that other fiddlefaddle nonsense.
Caaarrl94
Registered User
Join date: Sep 2012
3,004 IQ
#3
so you're suggesting I spend £150, only to find out I hate it because I can only have 2 effects until it reaches it's limits......
"I think the most important thing about music is the sense of escape." - Thom Yorke
Reincaster
Call me Rein.
Join date: Mar 2007
461 IQ
#5
I think you can use all those effects you mentioned at once. But reverb is always the most DSP intensive. There's lots of reverbs though. My main patch has a gate, drive, fender amp sim, memory man delay, intelligent pitch shifter, and bit crusher, so I think you'll be fine.
Peavey 5150
Mesa Mark IV
Mesa Single Rectifier (Series 1)
Fender Custom Shop Tonemaster
Roland Microcube

-Whitebox OS 1x12
-Port City OS 1x12

Digidesign Eleven RackAxe Fx Ultra
Caaarrl94
Registered User
Join date: Sep 2012
3,004 IQ
#6
Quote by Reincaster
I think you can use all those effects you mentioned at once. But reverb is always the most DSP intensive. There's lots of reverbs though. My main patch has a gate, drive, fender amp sim, memory man delay, intelligent pitch shifter, and bit crusher, so I think you'll be fine.


Thanks man, is it all the reverbs, or just the 'HD' ones?
can you have all 5 effects activated at the same time aswell?
"I think the most important thing about music is the sense of escape." - Thom Yorke
Reincaster
Call me Rein.
Join date: Mar 2007
461 IQ
#7
All reverbs are intensive (in ANY application), and the HD ones even more, but I never had a reason to use the HD ones.

If you can select all 6 effects you can have them on. It's like the Axe Fx where if you run out of DSP space, it won't let you add another effect.
Peavey 5150
Mesa Mark IV
Mesa Single Rectifier (Series 1)
Fender Custom Shop Tonemaster
Roland Microcube

-Whitebox OS 1x12
-Port City OS 1x12

Digidesign Eleven RackAxe Fx Ultra
Caaarrl94
Registered User
Join date: Sep 2012
3,004 IQ
#8
oh okay i understand, so i won't encounter any surprises when trying to turn an effect on mid-song. thanks man. I think I'm going to go with this definetly.
Amp sim, 100 Effects, USB Interface, Headphone output. This is a steal for £150.

One question, how is the actual quality of the effects and amp sims for doing hendrix/rhcp stuff.
"I think the most important thing about music is the sense of escape." - Thom Yorke
Reincaster
Call me Rein.
Join date: Mar 2007
461 IQ
#9
Quote by Caaarrl94
oh okay i understand, so i won't encounter any surprises when trying to turn an effect on mid-song. thanks man. I think I'm going to go with this definetly.
Amp sim, 100 Effects, USB Interface, Headphone output. This is a steal for £150.

One question, how is the actual quality of the effects and amp sims for doing hendrix/rhcp stuff.


Low mid gain stuff is pretty good. Pushing the plexi/jcm800 gets a decent hard rock tone too. You can even run some amp sims into another for extra push if you need it.

I like it, it's my backup to my Axe Fx.
Peavey 5150
Mesa Mark IV
Mesa Single Rectifier (Series 1)
Fender Custom Shop Tonemaster
Roland Microcube

-Whitebox OS 1x12
-Port City OS 1x12

Digidesign Eleven RackAxe Fx Ultra