Page 1 of 2
I'm a 15 year old self taught guitarist and i want to join a band, but i'm worried that i won't be taken seriously because i am a teenager. I am a completely capable guitarist and i think i'm better than a lot of adults, ( i don't mean that in an arrogant way but i am self taught and have been playing for nearly 10 years). My favourite band is Thin Lizzy and I found out that Brian Robertson joined Thin Lizzy when he was 17 so i thought if he can do it why can't I.
So the question is, Would you have a 15 year old in your band if he was talented and very capable ?
I expect a 15 year old would need ferrying around, probably wouldn't be able to afford to contribute towards practice sessions and general band consumables, and would limit the places that we could play in, as a lot of venues are over-18.

So no. Sorry. You're out.
Given how much shit I got from venue managers when I was 17 and playing gigs in bars, I wouldn't want to have to deal with that for 3 years. So unless you're Shawn Lane levels of talent, I'd say no.
Rhythm in Jump. Dancing Close to You.

Quote by element4433
Yeah. people, like Lemoninfluence, are hypocrites and should have all their opinions invalidated from here on out.
Nope. Lots of places I've played at enforce a minimum-age policy, even for performers. Sorry dude.
You might also want to worry about not being taken seriously for not capitalising your "I"s.
Quote by Johnny_Ibanez
I expect a 15 year old would need ferrying around, probably wouldn't be able to afford to contribute towards practice sessions and general band consumables, and would limit the places that we could play in, as a lot of venues are over-18.

This - also, I like to be able to hang out and relate with my band mates, and I couldn't do that with a teenager (I'm closer to 30 than 20).

However, if I was say 18 I don''t think I'd have a problem with it.

Note: I was a complete arse when I was 18.
Quote by GLP_Arclite
Pooping is well good though, to be fair.