Page 1 of 2
andyhatescrass
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2009
1,300 IQ
#1
So lately I've found that even after removing 2 out of 4 tubes and running my splawn at half power, I do not need the insanely loud volume that the quickrod cant really shake off, unless it is down past 9 o clock, then it just sounds like crap. I'm sure that i'm going to get called a complete idiot for this, but I played a prs se 50 head at a shop the other day and loved it! The cleans are sweet, better than the quickrod's and the distortion is enough for me. The thing is I use cleans more than distortion...... and I have a splawn -_- . I payed around 1300 for the splawn, and the prs is 1000, so I'm gonna try to barter with the shop about it. I feel like if they know anything, theyll make the trade.... gonna try to get a few more bucks after the trade as well, at least 200 maybe 300. Does that sound like a good way to go about haggling with a guitar shop?
cdr_salamander
or simply Nick
Join date: Mar 2009
1,335 IQ
#3
Don't go to GC, those guys shy away from boutique stuff for some reason (at least here they do). Best bet is to sell it through classifieds.
Quote by Dunning~Kruger
Yes I was rude, and I was aggressive and I was offending a large group of people. But I was civlized about it.

Taylor 414CE
andyhatescrass
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2009
1,300 IQ
#4
Quote by cdr_salamander
Don't go to GC, those guys shy away from boutique stuff for some reason (at least here they do). Best bet is to sell it through classifieds.


Not a guitar center, its an independent shop, they seem pretty knowledgeable about gear. I mean, its a 100w boutique head for a 50w head, that's more mass produced, and the splawn is worth so much more new which is how it looks! I dont see why anyone wouldn't trade, even if its just the amp for the amp and no extra $. Im having a hard time wrapping my head around this.

I've tried on craigslist and there's nobody in my area who wants to fork over that much for an amp, it seems like.
Last edited by andyhatescrass at Oct 6, 2012,
Ippon
Amped
Join date: Feb 2006
1,526 IQ
#5
$1300 is what they usually go for in Used, minty condition at GC. Right now there's one for that price. I snagged my current QR with the matching 212 cab for $1200 from CL.

Fortunately/Unfortunately, boutique amps are selling for cheap right now.
mmolteratx
UG God
Join date: Sep 2008
3,786 IQ
#6
Quote by Ippon
$1300 is what they usually go for in Used, minty condition at GC. Right now there's one for that price. I snagged my current QR with the matching 212 cab for $1200 from CL.

Fortunately/Unfortunately, boutique amps are selling for cheap right now.


Yup. Prices have tanked across the board. I've seen QR heads for $1k several times in the last month and a half or so.
E-peen:
Rhodes Gemini
Fryette Ultra Lead
Peavey 6505
THD Flexi 50

Gibson R0 Prototype
EBMM JP13 Rosewood
Fender CS Mary Kaye

WTLT

(512) Audio Engineering - Custom Pedal Builds, Mods and Repairs
AcousticMirror
loves cheesecake
Join date: Dec 2009
4,843 IQ
#7
i dunno if you'll get more then a grand even from a private sale.
buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo.
mmolteratx
UG God
Join date: Sep 2008
3,786 IQ
#8
Quote by AcousticMirror
i dunno if you'll get more then a grand even from a private sale.


Yup. I think he'd be lucky to get within a couple hundred of that when trading it in. I can get near market value at one store in Austin on relatively in demand items but that's really only because I know the owner and have bought so much stuff there.
E-peen:
Rhodes Gemini
Fryette Ultra Lead
Peavey 6505
THD Flexi 50

Gibson R0 Prototype
EBMM JP13 Rosewood
Fender CS Mary Kaye

WTLT

(512) Audio Engineering - Custom Pedal Builds, Mods and Repairs
trashedlostfdup
diet coke fiend.
Join date: Apr 2010
13,435 IQ
#10
Quote by mmolteratx
Yup. Prices have tanked across the board. I've seen QR heads for $1k several times in the last month and a half or so.


1 paid under a grand for the pro mod and the nitro a year or two ago, as well as my mesa mkIV

OP a shop is going to screw you. they need to make money, they need to get it down enough to sell it for what you want to sell for.
WTLT 2014 GG&A

Quote by andersondb7
alright "king of the guitar forum"


Quote by trashedlostfdup
nope i am "GOD of the guitar forum" i think that fits me better.


Quote by andersondb7
youre just being a jerk man.
trashedlostfdup
diet coke fiend.
Join date: Apr 2010
13,435 IQ
#11
also those volume pot in a box help out pretty well. under $20. worst case you still sel it and have a little enclosure to make a pedal or something in,

best case it is manageable as far as volume goes and you are happy.
WTLT 2014 GG&A

Quote by andersondb7
alright "king of the guitar forum"


Quote by trashedlostfdup
nope i am "GOD of the guitar forum" i think that fits me better.


Quote by andersondb7
youre just being a jerk man.
mmolteratx
UG God
Join date: Sep 2008
3,786 IQ
#12
Quote by trashedlostfdup
1 paid under a grand for the pro mod and the nitro a year or two ago, as well as my mesa mkIV

OP a shop is going to screw you. they need to make money, they need to get it down enough to sell it for what you want to sell for.


Well, MKIVs have been selling for right around a grand for a few years. Under a grand for a Nitro a year ago is pretty impressive. I think average price was around $1200 then. Sounds about right for now. Not sure what Pro Mods have been selling for. I just keep up with the QR and Nitro because they're fairly easy to spot in classified listings.
E-peen:
Rhodes Gemini
Fryette Ultra Lead
Peavey 6505
THD Flexi 50

Gibson R0 Prototype
EBMM JP13 Rosewood
Fender CS Mary Kaye

WTLT

(512) Audio Engineering - Custom Pedal Builds, Mods and Repairs
trashedlostfdup
diet coke fiend.
Join date: Apr 2010
13,435 IQ
#13
Quote by mmolteratx
Well, MKIVs have been selling for right around a grand for a few years. Under a grand for a Nitro a year ago is pretty impressive. I think average price was around $1200 then. Sounds about right for now. Not sure what Pro Mods have been selling for. I just keep up with the QR and Nitro because they're fairly easy to spot in classified listings.


i paid $875 on the mkIV. nice and minty with fresh tubes throughout.

i paid $950 shipped on the Promod, tubes a year old.

and $1k even shipped for the nitro, also freshly tubed.

there aren't as many promods out there, but i do like them over a quickrod.

IMO they are truly the most bang for the buck for the tones they produce.

______________________
and i am accurate on the prices i have an excel document full of anything i have bought and sold the last three years or so. so i refer to that if it is a price thing.
WTLT 2014 GG&A

Quote by andersondb7
alright "king of the guitar forum"


Quote by trashedlostfdup
nope i am "GOD of the guitar forum" i think that fits me better.


Quote by andersondb7
youre just being a jerk man.
Last edited by trashedlostfdup at Oct 6, 2012,
andyhatescrass
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2009
1,300 IQ
#14
Quote by trashedlostfdup
also those volume pot in a box help out pretty well. under $20. worst case you still sel it and have a little enclosure to make a pedal or something in,

best case it is manageable as far as volume goes and you are happy.


Considering this option, since its not looking very likely that i'm going to sell the QR and not lose money. I'm at a point where I feel like I have nothing to lose by trading my 4x12 for a 2x12 and also the volume box thing.....

When you say volume pot in a box, are you referring to a volume pedal? or were you talking about a separate device?
I've read about tone loss with volume wah-type-setup pedals, so i've been looking into a few of them with volume and tone control, which seems like it might be cool.
trashedlostfdup
diet coke fiend.
Join date: Apr 2010
13,435 IQ
#15
Quote by andyhatescrass
Considering this option, since its not looking very likely that i'm going to sell the QR and not lose money. I'm at a point where I feel like I have nothing to lose by trading my 4x12 for a 2x12 and also the volume box thing.....

When you say volume pot in a box, are you referring to a volume pedal? or were you talking about a separate device?
I've read about tone loss with volume wah-type-setup pedals, so i've been looking into a few of them with volume and tone control, which seems like it might be cool.


the pot in a box is literally this right here. i paid less for mine a month or so identical product same seller . http://www.ebay.com/itm/200621057930?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649

it isn't a miracle box, but it will definitely help. yea you do lose a little bit of tone, but thats just a sacrafice. it still sounds really good and still sounds like a splawn. you can do the volume pedal too, but i don't like the control of volume because its a spot on the pedal not a knob where you can see. i am a consistency freak though.
WTLT 2014 GG&A

Quote by andersondb7
alright "king of the guitar forum"


Quote by trashedlostfdup
nope i am "GOD of the guitar forum" i think that fits me better.


Quote by andersondb7
youre just being a jerk man.
andyhatescrass
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2009
1,300 IQ
#16
Had the idea recently of trying to jump the fx loop with a patch cable and just set it to -10 for attempting to solve my volume problems. Is there any reason not to try this? Could it hurt my amp in any way? I read about attenuators causing harm to amplifiers, not sure if this is anything like that, I just want to be sure.
311ZOSOVHJH
G G A - B A B Y
Join date: Mar 2008
7,171 IQ
#17
No, you won't hurt anything patching the loop like that. I've never done it on my amp but I have done that when I owned my Valveking. Same concept. I seriously doubt it is going to do much in the grand scheme of things.

Attenuators do not really cause harm to amplifiers but they CAN cause power tubes to run hotter and therefore shorten their life.

I really think you should try the 'Loop Volume Box' trick first. They are cheap, like trashedlostfdup said. It is basically like having a second master volume or an overall amp volume on your amp. Set your amp up with that cranked tone that you are looking for and then use the loop volume to bring it down. There is a bit of tone suckage but not enough to worry about. I've used these and an actual volume pedal with success. Give it a try before you give up on teh Splawn.

trashedlostfdup
diet coke fiend.
Join date: Apr 2010
13,435 IQ
#18
Quote by 311ZOSOVHJH
No, you won't hurt anything patching the loop like that. I've never done it on my amp but I have done that when I owned my Valveking. Same concept. I seriously doubt it is going to do much in the grand scheme of things.

Attenuators do not really cause harm to amplifiers but they CAN cause power tubes to run hotter and therefore shorten their life.

I really think you should try the 'Loop Volume Box' trick first. They are cheap, like trashedlostfdup said. It is basically like having a second master volume or an overall amp volume on your amp. Set your amp up with that cranked tone that you are looking for and then use the loop volume to bring it down. There is a bit of tone suckage but not enough to worry about. I've used these and an actual volume pedal with success. Give it a try before you give up on teh Splawn.



major +1

one nice thing too about it is you would have a master volume between both channels (obvious statement), but i leave my amp set, and use the loop volume to adjust volume, never bother with the knob on the amp.
WTLT 2014 GG&A

Quote by andersondb7
alright "king of the guitar forum"


Quote by trashedlostfdup
nope i am "GOD of the guitar forum" i think that fits me better.


Quote by andersondb7
youre just being a jerk man.
andyhatescrass
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2009
1,300 IQ
#19
Quote by 311ZOSOVHJH
No, you won't hurt anything patching the loop like that. I've never done it on my amp but I have done that when I owned my Valveking. Same concept. I seriously doubt it is going to do much in the grand scheme of things.

Attenuators do not really cause harm to amplifiers but they CAN cause power tubes to run hotter and therefore shorten their life.

I really think you should try the 'Loop Volume Box' trick first. They are cheap, like trashedlostfdup said. It is basically like having a second master volume or an overall amp volume on your amp. Set your amp up with that cranked tone that you are looking for and then use the loop volume to bring it down. There is a bit of tone suckage but not enough to worry about. I've used these and an actual volume pedal with success. Give it a try before you give up on teh Splawn.




Quote by trashedlostfdup
major +1

one nice thing too about it is you would have a master volume between both channels (obvious statement), but i leave my amp set, and use the loop volume to adjust volume, never bother with the knob on the amp.



Dudes,
I'm pretty sure that I'm going to be getting a volume box. However, this is really the first time i've started experimenting with the loop on this amp and there is one thing that sounded like a potential problem.

As I said earlier, my quickrod being an 07, it only has a button that you push in for -10db and leave out for +4 db. When I engage the loop, the pedals work and everything, but when I push in the db button, I get a volume boost rather than less (-10) db; also when pressing it in, for no more than 1 second, I get a sound similar to when you touch the tip of a cable when it is plugged into a running amp.

You guys seem to be the splawn experts around here, so any insight would be rad. I have a feeling a call to scott is in my future though.
AcousticMirror
loves cheesecake
Join date: Dec 2009
4,843 IQ
#20
well that button on the back is not meant to be used to set the level while playing.

it just sets the insert volume of the loop and you're not supposed to change it after it's set.

if you put a volume knob type pedal back there then you would just set the button on full and use the pedal.
buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo.
andyhatescrass
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2009
1,300 IQ
#21
Quote by AcousticMirror
well that button on the back is not meant to be used to set the level while playing.

it just sets the insert volume of the loop and you're not supposed to change it after it's set.

if you put a volume knob type pedal back there then you would just set the button on full and use the pedal.


Hmmm, so do I have to put my amp on standby to switch db levels and have them work right? Or does it require more than that?

I would normally ask if this could be harmful, but im guessing its not. I can't recall ever seeing anything saying not to switch fx loop levels while the amp is running.
AcousticMirror
loves cheesecake
Join date: Dec 2009
4,843 IQ
#22
no you can switch it while it's running. you just can't expect it to function like a boost that you can switch in and out whenever you want.
buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo.
311ZOSOVHJH
G G A - B A B Y
Join date: Mar 2008
7,171 IQ
#23
Quote by andyhatescrass
when I push in the db button, I get a volume boost rather than less (-10) db; also when pressing it in, for no more than 1 second, I get a sound similar to when you touch the tip of a cable when it is plugged into a running amp.


I actually think there might be something wrong with your amp. I don't think mine does that. Maybe I'll try it today and report back. -10db is what you want but I don't remember a drastic boost with it engaged not do I remember any noisiness like that.

I'd just send Scott an email. I also notice you have a similar thread over on the splawn boards - I'll go check that out too.
jimbob78
Registered User
Join date: Feb 2006
887 IQ
#24
Do you regularly play live in a band?
Quote by Skraeling86
That's a lot of booze. Frankly, I'm impressed. You're of a stronger timber than the average man, jimbob! Hail you.



Quote by Bubban
Yes you should go to a doctor, fucking moron. We can't do anything about your hemorrhoid.


Beezerk
Registered User
Join date: Apr 2010
823 IQ
#25
Another shout for those volume box gadgets here, I use one with my Krank in the FX loop, it means I can turn the master volume up as far as I want and control overall volume with the dial on the box.
I'd say the tone loss to my ears is minimal.
R45VT
Doesn't speak guitar
Join date: Dec 2009
1,110 IQ
#26
Quote by trashedlostfdup
the pot in a box is literally this right here. i paid less for mine a month or so identical product same seller . http://www.ebay.com/itm/200621057930?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649

it isn't a miracle box, but it will definitely help. yea you do lose a little bit of tone, but thats just a sacrafice. it still sounds really good and still sounds like a splawn. you can do the volume pedal too, but i don't like the control of volume because its a spot on the pedal not a knob where you can see. i am a consistency freak though.


Trashed- did you open yours up and take a measurement to see what type of pot is in there?
Quote by DeathByDestroyr
See, it's important that people clarify when they say "metal", because I pretty much always assume they are a Cannibal Corpse fanboi.
andyhatescrass
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2009
1,300 IQ
#27
Thanks for all of the suggestions, I'll be ordering a volume box in a few days, definitely sold on these. Still stuck on this fx loop issue though...

Quote by 311ZOSOVHJH
I actually think there might be something wrong with your amp. I don't think mine does that. Maybe I'll try it today and report back. -10db is what you want but I don't remember a drastic boost with it engaged not do I remember any noisiness like that.

I'd just send Scott an email. I also notice you have a similar thread over on the splawn boards - I'll go check that out too.


Thanks man. Let me know if you get a chance to mess around with it.

Quote by jimbob78
Do you regularly play live in a band?.


I do. This is pretty much my main reason for wanting lower volume, the rooms we play are usually too small for me to crank my QR to get THAT tone.
jimbob78
Registered User
Join date: Feb 2006
887 IQ
#28
Quote by andyhatescrass
Thanks for all of the suggestions, I'll be ordering a volume box in a few days, definitely sold on these. Still stuck on this fx loop issue though...


Thanks man. Let me know if you get a chance to mess around with it.


I do. This is pretty much my main reason for wanting lower volume, the rooms we play are usually too small for me to crank my QR to get THAT tone.



Fair enough. I know what that's like. I had a MK2 Boogie that needed to be crazy loud to open up.
Quote by Skraeling86
That's a lot of booze. Frankly, I'm impressed. You're of a stronger timber than the average man, jimbob! Hail you.



Quote by Bubban
Yes you should go to a doctor, fucking moron. We can't do anything about your hemorrhoid.


311ZOSOVHJH
G G A - B A B Y
Join date: Mar 2008
7,171 IQ
#29
Andy - I tried a bunch of stuff tonight but nothing was too conclusive.


I tried popping the Line Level button (+4/-10) on back of the amp while playing. It did make a bit of click but I did not notice too much of a boost one way or the other.

I tried that with and without my pedal board.

I tried it with the pedal board on (mainly phaser and EQ pedals) and didn't hear much difference.

I also put my volume box in the loop for a bit. It still works. It can have an affect but honestly - I remember now why I don't use it. See what you think and see if it will help in your situation.

You said you were looking to get more of a cranked tone for gigs? I think you will be happier with a 'power soaking' or motor based attenuator (as opposed to resistor based). I'm not an attenuator expert. Sasquatch on the splawn boards is really happy with his attenuator but I forget what he has. Rivera something. The one thing I have learned about attenuators is that you cannot cheap out. I think you need to be spending in the neighborhood of $200-$300+ to get a good one.

The one thing I tried tonight that had a negative affect was just using a patch cable to patch the effects loops. Lot of noise when I did that.

I'd be happy to experiment some more.


Here are the guts of my Omnisonic Volume Box. It is well made and well constructed. I could not pick up the value off it though. It is an Alpha 8D3. From what little research I did I believe that is a 250K pot (very common for something like this). I've seen volume potentiometer values ranging from 50K - 500K so who knows.

Let us know how it works for you Andy. Something like this is not a waste of money so even if you end up selling your Splawn you can still keep this as a second Master. Me thinks.

andyhatescrass
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2009
1,300 IQ
#30
Quote by 311ZOSOVHJH
Let us know how it works for you Andy. Something like this is not a waste of money so even if you end up selling your Splawn you can still keep this as a second Master. Me thinks.


Just got an email back from Scott, and everything is working the way it is supposed to. The +4 and -10 settings are there for running different pedals, depending if they are made to run line level or instrument level, in the loop; (+4 is line level; -10 is instrument level). I had not known that different units are made to run at different db levels and that clipping/weak tone/buzzing can occur if you run different units on either to high or low db. He also said that the loop matches the output, and there should be a very minimal difference between switching it back and fourth from +4 to -10, it strictly depends on what level the unit in the fx loop is made to run on.

So glad there's nothing wrong. I'll be ordering one of those omnisonic box's this week and will update when I get around to playing with it. I can't thank you enough for taking time out of your day to mess with your fx loop and posting the pic. You rule 311.
mmolteratx
UG God
Join date: Sep 2008
3,786 IQ
#31
Quote by 311ZOSOVHJH
Andy - I tried a bunch of stuff tonight but nothing was too conclusive.


I tried popping the Line Level button (+4/-10) on back of the amp while playing. It did make a bit of click but I did not notice too much of a boost one way or the other.

I tried that with and without my pedal board.

I tried it with the pedal board on (mainly phaser and EQ pedals) and didn't hear much difference.

I also put my volume box in the loop for a bit. It still works. It can have an affect but honestly - I remember now why I don't use it. See what you think and see if it will help in your situation.

You said you were looking to get more of a cranked tone for gigs? I think you will be happier with a 'power soaking' or motor based attenuator (as opposed to resistor based). I'm not an attenuator expert. Sasquatch on the splawn boards is really happy with his attenuator but I forget what he has. Rivera something. The one thing I have learned about attenuators is that you cannot cheap out. I think you need to be spending in the neighborhood of $200-$300+ to get a good one.

The one thing I tried tonight that had a negative affect was just using a patch cable to patch the effects loops. Lot of noise when I did that.

I'd be happy to experiment some more.


Here are the guts of my Omnisonic Volume Box. It is well made and well constructed. I could not pick up the value off it though. It is an Alpha 8D3. From what little research I did I believe that is a 250K pot (very common for something like this). I've seen volume potentiometer values ranging from 50K - 500K so who knows.

Let us know how it works for you Andy. Something like this is not a waste of money so even if you end up selling your Splawn you can still keep this as a second Master. Me thinks.



Value would be on the other side. And bah, that's not shielded and/or done remotely like how I'd do it. That solder blob on the back of the pot could fall off at any time. Should've used a metal enclosure and both of those problems would be solved.
E-peen:
Rhodes Gemini
Fryette Ultra Lead
Peavey 6505
THD Flexi 50

Gibson R0 Prototype
EBMM JP13 Rosewood
Fender CS Mary Kaye

WTLT

(512) Audio Engineering - Custom Pedal Builds, Mods and Repairs
R45VT
Doesn't speak guitar
Join date: Dec 2009
1,110 IQ
#32
Quote by mmolteratx
Value would be on the other side. And bah, that's not shielded and/or done remotely like how I'd do it. That solder blob on the back of the pot could fall off at any time. Should've used a metal enclosure and both of those problems would be solved.


Hard to tell from the photo if its flux or not- see the green in the inside of the clear insulation. Corrosion?
Quote by DeathByDestroyr
See, it's important that people clarify when they say "metal", because I pretty much always assume they are a Cannibal Corpse fanboi.
mmolteratx
UG God
Join date: Sep 2008
3,786 IQ
#33
Looks like he joints were overheated.
E-peen:
Rhodes Gemini
Fryette Ultra Lead
Peavey 6505
THD Flexi 50

Gibson R0 Prototype
EBMM JP13 Rosewood
Fender CS Mary Kaye

WTLT

(512) Audio Engineering - Custom Pedal Builds, Mods and Repairs
R45VT
Doesn't speak guitar
Join date: Dec 2009
1,110 IQ
#34
Quote by mmolteratx
Looks like he joints were overheated.


Ebay.
Quote by DeathByDestroyr
See, it's important that people clarify when they say "metal", because I pretty much always assume they are a Cannibal Corpse fanboi.
311ZOSOVHJH
G G A - B A B Y
Join date: Mar 2008
7,171 IQ
#35
Quote by andyhatescrass
Just got an email back from Scott, and everything is working the way it is supposed to. The +4 and -10 settings are there for running different pedals, depending if they are made to run line level or instrument level, in the loop; (+4 is line level; -10 is instrument level). I had not known that different units are made to run at different db levels and that clipping/weak tone/buzzing can occur if you run different units on either to high or low db. He also said that the loop matches the output, and there should be a very minimal difference between switching it back and fourth from +4 to -10, it strictly depends on what level the unit in the fx loop is made to run on.

So glad there's nothing wrong. I'll be ordering one of those omnisonic box's this week and will update when I get around to playing with it. I can't thank you enough for taking time out of your day to mess with your fx loop and posting the pic. You rule 311.

Glad I could help. Sounds like you are getting answers from the horses mouth so that's good. Everything sounds real consistent. I hope you get things figured out. You may seriously need to get something like a Rivera Rock Crusher. Matt can tell you more about his if he sees this but they are not cheap. Also, maybe consider getting a better built volume box. I know $20 is not that much so it is fine to experiment but it does what you want maybe consider getting someone to make you a better one or get a something like an Ernie Ball Volume Pedal. I used one of those for a while too. Same concept but better parts and you don't have to reach around behind the amp.
Quote by mmolteratx
Looks like he joints were overheated.

I got mine from the guy that sold me the Splawn. He gigged with it. I doubt I did that.
andyhatescrass
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2009
1,300 IQ
#36
Quote by 311ZOSOVHJH
Also, maybe consider getting a better built volume box. I know $20 is not that much so it is fine to experiment but it does what you want maybe consider getting someone to make you a better one or get a something like an Ernie Ball Volume Pedal. I used one of those for a while too. Same concept but better parts and you don't have to reach around behind the amp.


I may consider an attenuator at some point, but right now, I'd rather just have a well built volume box. I did find a guy who custom builds pedals and one of them happens to be a volume box that goes for $55. Its small and thin, no footswitch, just a knob. What kind of parts go into a decent volume box? Obviously a good pot is necessary. But what sets good ones apart from cheap ebay ones? Would it not always just be jacks connected to a pot?
mmolteratx
UG God
Join date: Sep 2008
3,786 IQ
#37
Switchcraft jacks, aluminum Hammond enclosure and an Alpha, CTS, PEC or Clarostat pot. Switchcraft jacks are like $1.50 a piece in small quantities, Alpha 25kA pot would be like $1, Hammond enclosure like $8 and wire around $5 for 50ft.
E-peen:
Rhodes Gemini
Fryette Ultra Lead
Peavey 6505
THD Flexi 50

Gibson R0 Prototype
EBMM JP13 Rosewood
Fender CS Mary Kaye

WTLT

(512) Audio Engineering - Custom Pedal Builds, Mods and Repairs
mmolteratx
UG God
Join date: Sep 2008
3,786 IQ
#38
Alright, built and tested one and did a tutorial in the 20 minutes since my last post. And half of that time was spent trying to find a pair of jacks in my pile of parts. You can have this one for $30 shipped.

First, gather your parts. You need two jacks (TS or TRS, doesn't matter as you won't be using the ring. I just happened to find two TRS jacks first.), an enclosure and a pot (any value from 25k-500k audio taper will work.)



Then drill your enclosure. 9/32" for the pot, 3/8" for the two jacks.



Populate enclosure.



Wire input tip to lug 3 (hot) of the pot. Wire lug 2 (wiper) of the pot to the output tip. Wire lug 3 (ground) to the sleeve of the output jack.



Screw enclosure shut and throw a knob on.

E-peen:
Rhodes Gemini
Fryette Ultra Lead
Peavey 6505
THD Flexi 50

Gibson R0 Prototype
EBMM JP13 Rosewood
Fender CS Mary Kaye

WTLT

(512) Audio Engineering - Custom Pedal Builds, Mods and Repairs
Last edited by mmolteratx at Oct 24, 2012,