thefollower
Registered User
Join date: Aug 2007
834 IQ
#1
Hey

I am having a problem with this pedal i bought today. I can't get it to light up and give output in my pedal setup..... how ever the pedal does work this is what i tried:


Guitar > Delay > amp = Worked.


Guitar > ISP > TS9DX > Maxon Pro9 Compressor > Delay > amp = no sound, no light up when i push the pedal either.

What causes this ? Is this suppose to happen ?

Also i have not yet tried it in my amps effect loops (i know it should be post pre amp ideally) but i wanted to just test it out for any faults before i sort out the loops...

Any ideas why ?


p.s If i remove the delay pedal so it ends up with:
Guitar > ISP > TS9DX > Maxon Pro9 Compressor > amp i got a good sound out of it so the sound does carry through.
GHJ
A Paw In My Face
Join date: Jul 2004
86 IQ
#2
A problem with the extra patch cable perhaps.
...Bleep Bloop...
thefollower
Registered User
Join date: Aug 2007
834 IQ
#3
I thought that too but i used a patch cable that i was sure worked (swapping them around etc) still cuts off on my delay pedal =/
Phoenix V
Registered MUser
Join date: Mar 2011
715 IQ
#4
The Maxon CP9 Pro compressors do funny things with the input voltage. I think they boost the 9v input up to 18v and then split it internally into +9 and -9 voltage rails. Connecting the output of the compressor may be playing funny games with the power for your delay as i suspect it only uses +9 volts internally (like most pedals)

Try putting the delay before the compressor, as an experiment, and see if you have the same problem
'It takes 100 guitar players to change a light. One to change the light and 99 to stand around pointing, saying..."Yeah man, look...I can do that too"...'

My gear is in my Profile

Builds & Refurbs
Hondo 780 Deluxe
Gibson Studio
Epi LP100
Last edited by Phoenix V at Oct 10, 2012,
thefollower
Registered User
Join date: Aug 2007
834 IQ
#5
Quote by Phoenix V
The Maxon CP9 Pro compressors do funny things with the input voltage. I think they boost the 9v input up to 18v and then split it internally into +9 and -9 voltage rails. Connecting the output of the compressor may be playing funny games with the power for your delay as i suspect it only uses +9 volts internally (like most pedals)

Try putting the delay before the compressor, as an experiment, and see if you have the same problem



Ok i will try when i am up tomorrow bit late at night now ! Thanks for the tip! I will update this tomorrow!
thefollower
Registered User
Join date: Aug 2007
834 IQ
#7
Quote by &baconstrips
How is everything powered?



Voodoo Lab pedal power 2 plus.