Caaarrl94
Registered User
Join date: Sep 2012
3,004 IQ
#1
I'm looking at buying a new amp, and was originally planning on getting a small tube amp with a multi effects unit.
i wasn't going to get a modelling amp because of the whole modelling being modelled. haha
But i've heard that the vox can be put into a manual mode?
meaning all effects and presets/amp models would be bypassed, and only the raw sound of the amp is left.

Is this true?

Also if this is true, would it mean it would more the happily accept a multi effects pedal?
"I think the most important thing about music is the sense of escape." - Thom Yorke
Last edited by Caaarrl94 at Oct 25, 2012,
lucky1978
Blues Kazooist
Join date: May 2008
920 IQ
#2
Just buy one. You can scrutinize any amp to death but in the end, you're talking about a $150 amp...just buy it
katalyzt13
Registered User
Join date: Jun 2010
2,152 IQ
#3
don't buy the VT20+ if you don't want a modeling amp. If you don't want a modeling amp, then the VT20+ isn't a bad choice.
Caaarrl94
Registered User
Join date: Sep 2012
3,004 IQ
#4
i'd like a modelling amp because of how great they are for practicing, no need for pedals and stuff.
but i'd like to bypass all the modelling if i choose to use pedals with it
"I think the most important thing about music is the sense of escape." - Thom Yorke
Sampy
Registered User
Join date: Sep 2006
196 IQ
#5
Manual mode just means that you aren't using a saved preset. As far as I am aware there is no way to bypass the modelling.

Also, most pedals should sound fine with the modelling on.
"Music snobbery is the worst kind of snobbery. 'Oh, you like those noises? Those sounds in your ear? Do you like them? They're the wrong sounds. You should like these sounds in your ear.'"
- Dara O'Briain
Caaarrl94
Registered User
Join date: Sep 2012
3,004 IQ
#6
Quote by Sampy
Manual mode just means that you aren't using a saved preset. As far as I am aware there is no way to bypass the modelling.

Also, most pedals should sound fine with the modelling on.


I think i just heard manual mode and presumed that's what it was.
would it act as a normal amp if i just chose the cleanest model with no effects?
"I think the most important thing about music is the sense of escape." - Thom Yorke
Unholy.Daemon
Call Me Jamie.
Join date: Feb 2010
1,294 IQ
#7
Quote by Caaarrl94
I think i just heard manual mode and presumed that's what it was.
would it act as a normal amp if i just chose the cleanest model with no effects?


yeah that'd be fine, i used to do it when i was using my friend's VT20, sounded exactly like my pedal always does
PRS SE Torero | Fender MIM Tele | Jackson RR3

Bugera TriRec Infinium | Randall RH50T

Marshall 1960AV

Soundcloud
Band Facebook
kolenik
Registered User
Join date: May 2009
77 IQ
#8
Pedals work quite good with VT30, so I see no reason why they wouldn't work with VT20.
GaryBillington
Last of a Dyin' Breed
Join date: Nov 2001
1,309 IQ
#9
One of the clean modes in the VT series is just that - clean, with no modelling applied. That one will take pedals OK.

Be wary about using pedals with the modeled channels though - depending on the pedal/model, the modelling can override the pedal and make some fairly awful sounds.

If you're selective you can be OK, but modelling amps are mostly designed to work with their in-built effects rather than pedals, as the in-built effects would be placed at the appropriate point in the chain, whereas pedals have to be placed before the amp.
.
Gibson LP Traditional, LP Studio, SG Standard x2
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm > TC Polytune > MXR Custom Badass 78 > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
Laney VC30
Marshall TSL602
Jet City JCA22H

My SoundCloud
kyle62
Need a dispenser here!
Join date: May 2007
1,619 IQ
#10
You're making a big fuss about nothing. The amp models are designed to respond like an actual amp - and that includes pedals.
They're not as dynamic and responsive as a good tube amp, normally, but if you turn off the extra effects (and cabinet emulation) they still very much feel like a real amp

I tend to turn off cab modelling on the Line6s I've owned, it definitely makes it feel more realistic.