woodery9896
Registered User
Join date: Mar 2011
320 IQ
#1
hey guys xD long time since i posted in one of these

i was just wondering, and i do this alot to help me, if for example there was a song with G, Bb and F#, can you put a capo on 3 and play the chords as E, G and D? does that work properly because i dont think its much different to barring chords

replies all welcome

woodery9896 - electro-acoustic guitar player
Junior#1
Is SouTaicho Yamamoto-san
Join date: Oct 2007
238 IQ
#2
It will give you the right chords, but it would help your ability a lot more to just get used to barre chords. They're quite common. Plus, if you have to go lower than where you put the capo, you're screwed.
Quote by Geldin
Junior's usually at least a little terse, but he knows his stuff. I've always read his posts in a grouchy grandfather voice, a grouchy grandfather with a huge stiffy for alternate picking.
Besides that, he's right this time. As usual.
KG6_Steven
Eats ponies for breakfast
Join date: Nov 2006
3,139 IQ
#3
Don't use a capo as a crutch to not learning or playing barre chords. They certainly have their place, such as when you want to have something other than the E as a droning bass note. As Junior mentioned, if you need a lower note than you have your capo set to, you're hosed. Been there and done that.
the_hoodster
Registered User
Join date: Apr 2008
442 IQ
#4
If you played the D, it'd be an F not and F# but the others would be fine.
woodery9896
Registered User
Join date: Mar 2011
320 IQ
#5
thanks guys, it'd take me a while but i'd get there (: practise makes perfect!

woodery9896
Vin71
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2012
313 IQ
#6
I think it's better to laern to not use a capo just my opinon on it