Time Seller
UG's Official TS
Join date: Mar 2008
1,695 IQ
#1
Hey there!

I'm putting together a PC and my motherboard (ASRock Z75 Pro3) doesn't come with a Firewire slot. Also, for the price range I'm looking at ($80-120) for the mobo, apparently everything will have pretty shitty latency and I was told to look at getting a separate card for it.

Any recommendations? Is this one, for example , any good?
lockwolf
Recording's AdBot/Dick
Join date: Jun 2007
1,422 IQ
#2
Firewire can be very picky. Most interfaces run better off of an interface with the Texas Instruments chipset. I can't honestly tell you if that card has it or not.
Derpy Derp Derp Herp Derp
tottsk1
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2010
729 IQ
#4
I guess "TI" stands for Texas Instruments so it should be fine.
J-Dawg158
UG's Resident Dhampyr
Join date: Nov 2008
154 IQ
#5
Go to your interface manufacturer's website & look around for some support documentation that tells what chipsets your interface is compatible with then check the FireWire card uses one of those chip sets. I just built a new system & almost ordered a FireWire card that wasn't compatible with my interface til I checked into it.
I'm an
Engeneer
Enginear
Enginere

I'm Good at Math
z4twenny
UG's resident Psychopath
Join date: Nov 2005
936 IQ
#6
Quote by tottsk1
I guess "TI" stands for Texas Instruments so it should be fine.

+1

I have a ti siig and I think it was $40 and works great
lockwolf
Recording's AdBot/Dick
Join date: Jun 2007
1,422 IQ
#7
Quote by z4twenny
+1

I have a ti siig and I think it was $40 and works great


Yup, I've got 2 of them. I'd sell one to OP but if hes in Malaysia like the link he posted is, it would cost almost $20 to ship it.
Derpy Derp Derp Herp Derp
oneblackened
Better Than You At Mixing
Join date: Oct 2007
3,210 IQ
#8
Get one that's PCI Express, you'd be silly to get a PCI based card now.
Current Gear:
LTD MH-400
PRS SE Custom 24 (BKP C-Bomb/VHII)
ESP Horizon NT-7 (SD Full Shreds)
UA Apollo Twin Duo
Peavey Revalver 4, UAD Friedman BE100/DS40
Focal Alpha 65 monitors
Quote by Anonden
You CAN play anything with anything....but some guitars sound right for some things, and not for others. Single coils sound retarded for metal, though those who are apeshit about harpsichord probably beg to differ.
axemanchris
Awwww.... NOW what?!
Join date: Aug 2006
2,471 IQ
#9
^... assuming he has a PCI-e slot available.

Yes, make SURE it has a Texas Instruments chipset. MANY FW interfaces are VERY picky about this.

CT
Could I get some more talent in the monitors, please?

I know it sounds crazy, but try to learn to inhale your voice. www.thebelcantotechnique.com

Chris is the king of relating music things to other objects in real life.
oneblackened
Better Than You At Mixing
Join date: Oct 2007
3,210 IQ
#10
Quote by axemanchris
^... assuming he has a PCI-e slot available.

Yes, make SURE it has a Texas Instruments chipset. MANY FW interfaces are VERY picky about this.

CT

I'd be surprised to find a modern computer that doesn't have a x1 port and an x16 port
Current Gear:
LTD MH-400
PRS SE Custom 24 (BKP C-Bomb/VHII)
ESP Horizon NT-7 (SD Full Shreds)
UA Apollo Twin Duo
Peavey Revalver 4, UAD Friedman BE100/DS40
Focal Alpha 65 monitors
Quote by Anonden
You CAN play anything with anything....but some guitars sound right for some things, and not for others. Single coils sound retarded for metal, though those who are apeshit about harpsichord probably beg to differ.
axemanchris
Awwww.... NOW what?!
Join date: Aug 2006
2,471 IQ
#11
Agreed, but the question is "available."

CT
Could I get some more talent in the monitors, please?

I know it sounds crazy, but try to learn to inhale your voice. www.thebelcantotechnique.com

Chris is the king of relating music things to other objects in real life.