User_Name336
I have e coli (see below)
Join date: Dec 2009
730 IQ
#1
i picked up a cab a few weeks ago (krank revolution 412 with the eminence legend v12) because i personally feel these speakers are better sounding than v30s (but lets not get into that arguement here). i knew the cab was only 16 ohm and that was fine until i sold my head. now i'm looking at getting two different amp heads, but both are vintage, and both are 8ohm. i dont want to mod the heads.

is there anything i can do that i can use these heads with this cab?
Perverockstar69
Registered User
Join date: Jul 2011
3,494 IQ
#2
You'll be alright man , connect it! My amps out is at 8ohm and I have a 16ohm cab too, it's working awesome.

Mesa Royal Atlantic
Laney LC15R
Emperor 4x12 Silver Bells
Gibson SG Standard
LTD Viper-500
Catalinbread Ottava Magus
Jim Dunlop CFH
MXR Carbon Copy
EHX Epitome
EHX Superego
Fuzz Hugger Algal Bloom
Way Huge Fat Sandwich
Perverockstar69
Registered User
Join date: Jul 2011
3,494 IQ
#4
Well, my Mesa can handle that mismatch with no trouble at all...

Mesa Royal Atlantic
Laney LC15R
Emperor 4x12 Silver Bells
Gibson SG Standard
LTD Viper-500
Catalinbread Ottava Magus
Jim Dunlop CFH
MXR Carbon Copy
EHX Epitome
EHX Superego
Fuzz Hugger Algal Bloom
Way Huge Fat Sandwich
User_Name336
I have e coli (see below)
Join date: Dec 2009
730 IQ
#6
Quote by forsaknazrael
It's not a great idea, an impedance mismatch is extra stress on the head.

What kind of heads don't have multiple impedance outs?


There's this, but since a 1:2 mismatch like yours is technically safe, it's not really necessary.
https://taweber.powweb.com/store/zmatch.htm

like i mentioned in the original post, its vintage gear. ones from the early 60s, ones from the late 70s/early 80s. the newer of the two can go 4 or 8 ohm, the other is strictly 8 ohm. my cab is only rated at 16 ohm. thats why i was asking
Robbgnarly
Tab Contributor
Join date: Feb 2011
1,177 IQ
#7
Quote by Perverockstar69
Well, my Mesa can handle that mismatch with no trouble at all...

Yes and some amps handle it just fine, others will blow the OT. Its best to find out what amp he is looking at before you assume things.........
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Robbgnarly
Tab Contributor
Join date: Feb 2011
1,177 IQ
#8
TS you can rewire the cab to be 4ohm though and then you won't have the worries of missmatching.

I have a rev 4x12 I bought 3 1/2 yrs ago and I absolutely love it.
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
User_Name336
I have e coli (see below)
Join date: Dec 2009
730 IQ
#9
Quote by Robbgnarly
Yes and some amps handle it just fine, others will blow the OT. Its best to find out what amp he is looking at before you assume things.........

i would rather not risk it. i want to know what i could do about the cab. i trade a lot of gear and i came into these two amps, and i'm considering keeping one.

that being said, i looked into the weber z matcher by a previous poster and it looks great. i'm just wondering if theres another way around it. i dont have too much cash to get one shipped to me (i'm in canada). is there a way to rewire my cab so i could have multiple different inputs? say one of them is 4 ohm in, one is 16 ohm in? or 8 ohm in?
User_Name336
I have e coli (see below)
Join date: Dec 2009
730 IQ
#10
Quote by Robbgnarly
TS you can rewire the cab to be 4ohm though and then you won't have the worries of missmatching.

I have a rev 4x12 I bought 3 1/2 yrs ago and I absolutely love it.

you posted while i was typing! haha! would you mind just telling me how i could rewire it? a personal message (or here) is fine
gumbilicious
beginner
Join date: Oct 2007
1,237 IQ
#11
Quote by User_Name336
you posted while i was typing! haha! would you mind just telling me how i could rewire it? a personal message (or here) is fine


well, if you want a bunch of options

http://www.colomar.com/Shavano/4x12wiring.html

i'd recommend some kinda series, parallel, mono/stereo option. that way you could have a mono 16 and 4 ohm option with a stereo 8 ohm option.

http://www.mojotone.com/amp-parts/Jack-Plates-and-Ferrules/OEM-Stereo-Mono-Cabinet-4x12-Wired-Jack-Plate-Double-1-4#.UKfvZ4WkD-k
punk isn't dead, it's always smelled that way.

"A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem."
-ae
forsaknazrael
..kupo?
Join date: Jan 2005
3,141 IQ
#12
Quote by User_Name336
like i mentioned in the original post, its vintage gear. ones from the early 60s, ones from the late 70s/early 80s. the newer of the two can go 4 or 8 ohm, the other is strictly 8 ohm. my cab is only rated at 16 ohm. thats why i was asking


I wanted to know the brand and model, obviously....

a 16 ohm 4x12 can be rewired as 4 ohm btw. I'd do that.
311ZOSOVHJH
G G A - B A B Y
Join date: Mar 2008
7,171 IQ
#13
Quote by User_Name336
412

is there anything i can do that i can use these heads with this cab?

Are you wanting the ability to switch back and forth between heads?

What gumbi said is what I was thinking. Wire 2 of speakers in parallel for 8 ohms and then wire the other 2 speakers in parallel for your other 8 ohms. Bam! fixed

You can get a mono/stereo jack plate similar to most Marshall cabs.
gumbilicious
beginner
Join date: Oct 2007
1,237 IQ
#14
Quote by 311ZOSOVHJH
Are you wanting the ability to switch back and forth between heads?

What gumbi said is what I was thinking. Wire 2 of speakers in parallel for 8 ohms and then wire the other 2 speakers in parallel for your other 8 ohms. Bam! fixed

You can get a mono/stereo jack plate similar to most Marshall cabs.


that jack plate even allows for a series and parallel wiring, then you'd have just about every option available too.
punk isn't dead, it's always smelled that way.

"A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem."
-ae
Ippon
Amped
Join date: Feb 2006
1,526 IQ
#15
From another thread:

Quote by Ippon
Slow day.

Amp techs: I know speakons are ideal if you have a 500W and up Bass head driving a 500W and up cab, and to use 12 gauge wire for the speakers.

Do I need speakons if the head is 200W and below but driving 800W and up?
User_Name336
I have e coli (see below)
Join date: Dec 2009
730 IQ
#16
thanks for all the help. i've looked over the links and thats exactly the sort of thing i was looking for. i want to be able to wire it so i can use multiple different amps i may acquire over time.

as for exactly which amps i was referring to, they are a fender bandmaster reverb, a marshall artist 3203, and then a few more modern amps that i can actually use without issue. these two were my problem though. but the issue lies in that i trade a lot of gear trying to find exactly whats right for me, so i would like to have a cab that can actually work with just about anything i get. i feel like a rewiring to 4/8/16 ohms all in one jack plate will probably get it done

once again, thanks for the help