I've been playing for 6 years and i'm ashamed to admit i've never owned any pedals. I always got away with my current amp but i need to expand now. I've read many sites talking about distortion pedals but i still don't feel like they've targeted me and helped me find what i need.

Artists I listen to/want to sound more like include Protest The Hero, The Flatliners, Title Fight. Stuff like that, and if it works with modern metal that'd be great too.

I hope to be getting an ISP Decimator soon and a distortion pedal is pretty damn important. Hell, maybe i'm really looking for an overdrive pedal and i don't know it, but i don't think that's right.

If I'm missing anything, let me know. Any help is appreciated.
current amp and guitar?
RG351DX - Bridge Dragonfire Screamer, Mid+Neck Fender Hot Noiseless
Peavey Valveking 112 - Eminence GB128
AMT E1 > Joyo AC Tone > Dan'o EQ > Shimverb > Digidelay
Quote by tas38
current amp and guitar?

Oh yeah, sorry. I have a Schecter Hellraiser C-1 and use one of two amps: a Crate GFX-212T 120w, and a Marshall MG100FX.
You're about to get a flood of "What you really need is a new amp"

Anyway, I'd say the AMT P-drive is worth a look.
RG351DX - Bridge Dragonfire Screamer, Mid+Neck Fender Hot Noiseless
Peavey Valveking 112 - Eminence GB128
AMT E1 > Joyo AC Tone > Dan'o EQ > Shimverb > Digidelay
TS, legitimately I am not wanting to start a fight with anyone, but it will probably ensue, so be warned. I don't think that you should grab pedals quite yet, as their is a strong chance your amp is the source of your tone disappointment, and a good distortion pedal, ever how good, probably is not going to help. I would recommend saving for a new amp, or if you wanted to get a jump start for ideas, start a new amp thread.
I'm just a kickin' and a gougin' in the mud and the blood and the beer.
Yeah, i know I don't plan on keeping it for long anyway. But i'll check that one out, thanks.
Quote by dementiacaptain