Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  

Old 11-25-2012, 01:05 PM   #1
Registered User
MultiM's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
how to match heads and cabinets?

I have a question:
can I connect any cabinet to any head?
I know it doesn't have to be the same brand or some,
but maybe it should be the same wattage? or some thing or I can use any cabinet I want?
MultiM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 03:00 PM   #2
Chirp and Swirl
Dave_Mc's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern Ireland
impedance should match

wattage of cab needs to be at least as high as, preferably a bit higher than, the wattage of the head.

other than that you're good to go.
Originally Posted by Cathbard
We had a guy in the band admit that he liked Nickelback. We immediately started looking for his replacement.

Originally Posted by PiercedBand
You don't go to a Slayer concert and see a combo.

Dave_Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 05:56 PM   #3
Slowest Metal Guitarist
crabstampede's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lethbridge, AB
yes. mismatched head/cabinet is great when done right. I don't have any matched shit. just make sure you set the impedance correctly on your amp.
:: Peavey JSX | XXX ::
:: LTD V | Viper | AX [EMG85] ::
:: Vader 2x12 | Krankenstein 4x12 ::
:: G50 | DecimatorG-String | 95Q ::
:: Polytune | Ditto | CarbonCopy ::
crabstampede is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:30 PM.

Forum Archives / About / TOS / Advertise with us / Customer Support / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2015
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.