dmheath66
21 IQ
Hey guys. Just wanted to post this (see link at bottom) and make sure my thinking is correct. I'm like 99% sure this is a fake. I question it mainly because I'm no expert. Since I have been interested in buying one of these for a while now, I think I know all of the features and details well enough to make that call. This one has some extremely obvious flaws:

1. Black pickups in stead of zebra
2. Incorrect knobs
3. White cover plates on back instead of black
4. Serial number printed on a sticker
5. 3 of the tuners aren't Wilkinsons
6. Incorrect case
7. Not a bit of the candy

There may be others, but those are the most obvious to me. From what I think I know, the serial number on a sticker pretty much says it all. But, seeing as how this is being sold as seller refurbished, pickups or any of those other bolt-on items could have been changed. Why they would be is beyond me. The worst part is he isn't exactly selling it cheap. From what I've seen the real ones have been getting $1000+, but I've seen a couple go for $800-$900 lately. I hated to pass them up, but still can't justify the money yet.

So, in an effort to educate myself further and help anybody else interested in these guitars and possibly picking one up off of Ebay, I would appreciate opinions/comments on this one in particular. You might take a look at some of his other items. The one Epiphone LP Std he is selling I would be willing to bet is a fake. All of the ones I looked at are "seller refurbished"

What gets me, especially in this case, if I were going to make a replica of something and try to pawn it off as the real deal, I would capture as much detail as possible. Especially with the easy bolt-on items. They can get the stickers and Slash logo correct but not the rest?

Fake Epi Slash Appetite on Ebay

Thanks in advance for taking a look.

Dave
paruwi
€pi Wiki Team
12 IQ
It IS legit,

but it is a 'refurbished' model.....

you can see it by the serial sticker, starting with 311.....